Iain Pears

Iain Pears was born on 1st January, the year 1955. Pears was born in Coventry town in the United Kingdom. At 61 years of age, he is an English novelist, journalist and also an art historian. During his childhood stage, he was a very focus student as he took his education serious. He went to his junior school and Warwick, which is also the school she went to for his high school education. Iain Pears did not stop his education life at the high school level. He worked very hard to pass his high school education and as a result, he was able to secure a chance at Wadham College where he started pursuing his college education. However, Iain Pears did not complete all of his college education at Wadham College. He also applied for an admission at the Wolfson College, which was located at Oxford. Here is where he further pursued his career in journalism.

It is a clear fact that Iain Pears did not pursued writing as his career. He was first a journalist and an art historian. Before he even thought of becoming a writer, he worked as a reporter in two media stations in the United Kingdom. These media stations were the Channel 4 and BBC. As a journalist, he did not only worked in his home country, but also he worked at ZDF, which is a media station in Germany. Iain Pears was even a Reuters’ correspondent in France, Italy, United States and United Kingdom between the year 1982 and the year 1990. In the year 1987, as Pears was at the Yale University, he was able to become a Getty fellow in the Humanities and Arts.

In the middle of 1990s, Iain Pears started writing, but he gained international prominence in writing in the year 1997. This was as a result his bestselling book “An Instance of the Fingerpost”. The book “An Instance of the Fingerpost”, has since then been translated to other different languages. Pears was able to gain a lot of popularity as a result of the experiments he made on different narrative structures. This made him present his book into four consecutive versions. All the four versions were on the same event.

In the year 2002, Pears published the book “The Dream of Scipio”, which had three stories interleaved. Coming the year 2009, he published yet another book known as “Stone’s fall”. This book had three stories told backwards. Last year, in his electronic book of Arcadia, he allowed the readers to switch between the multiple narratives. Iain Pears has also written a novel series that features an art historian, Jonathan Argyll.

Iain Pears has a wife with who they are blessed with children. Pears and his wife currently lives in Oxford, United Kingdom.

Iain Pears Books in Series

An instance of the Fingerpost

An instance of the Fingerpost is a novel by Iain Pears which is mainly dwells in historical mystery. The novel is introduced by a murder the happened in 17th century. The murder is said to have happened in Oxford, and the novel brings up the mystery aspects by the autopsies, suspects and the smoking guns.

The setting of the entire novel is in Oxford City, UK, in the year 1663, the time during which monarchy’s restoration following the civil war. This is the time that King Charles’ II authority is not settled yet and the conspiracies are in abundant. The story starts thw time Dr. Robert Grove is discovered dead in his room in Oxford. Dr. Robert was not only found dead, but his face was frozen in a gape pain and his hands were clenched, though all the signs pertaining his death points to poison.

Generally, the novel revolves around Dr. Robert murder with different people giving their own edition of what they think happened, as there exist conspiracies between William Compton and John Mordaunt. His death also brings the politics that exist between Lord Clareton and Henry Bennett. The story given by Sarah Blundy goes in line with that that Anne Greene gives.

The novel introduces Marco da Cola as an Italian physician who visits Oxford. Jack Prestcott is the son of the traitor, who run away from his country to deflect execution. He is involved events affecting the life of Richard Willis. Dr. John Wallis, is not only a mathematician but also a cryptographer, who has a preference for conspiracy theories. Finally the novel talks about Anthony Wood as a mild mannered Oxford antiquarian and it is his story that proves the novel’s title, ”A instance of the finger post”. The above four characters are the featured in the novel as historical figures. Other like John Locke, who was a philosopher, Richard Lower and Robert Boyle, who are scientist, John Thurloe, a spymaster and finally Samuel Morland, who is an investor are also included.

The Dream of Scipio

The Dream of Scipio is a novel by Iain Pears. This novel is told from multiple view points as it is both an inventive and gloriously historical detailed novel. The novel is set following the three critical Western civilization moments. These moments include the collapsing of the Roman Empire that occurred in the 5th Century, Black Death which happened in 14th Century and the Second World War in the 1940’s The novel introduces a French nobleman from the fifth century, and bishop Manlius. Manlius being outlined in the novel as a civilized man, is depicted to have embraced the uncouth Christian faith in the name of protecting what he holds dearly.

Oliver de Noyen, who is an 11th century troubadour and scholar, is a famous doomed admirer of a married girl. Julien Barneuve, being the scholar of the de Noyen in the 1940s, discovers that the magnificent manuscript of Manlius. It is through him, that the manuscript is called “The Dream of Scipio”. However, all the three men from the novel are depicted to have come from the same town. The teaching about the wise woman that links Pear’s three narrative threads story is derived from this manuscript.

The novels brings out clearly the conflicts that exists between beauty contemplation and the classical idea of learning. The uncivilized, noisy and democratizing impulses that affects the Christian era are also highlighted in the novel.

Books in order of publication by series:

Jonathan Argyll Books

The Raphael Affair(1990) 
The Titian Committee(1991) 
The Bernini Bust(1992) 
The Last Judgement(1993) 
Giotto’s Hand(1994) 
Death and Restoration(1996) 
The Immaculate Deception(2000) 

Standalone Novels

An Instance of the Fingerpost(1997) 
The Dream of Scipio(2002) 
The Portrait(2005) 
Stone’s Fall(2009) 

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Discovery of Painting: The Growth of Interest in the Arts in England, 1680-1768(1988)
%d bloggers like this: