Ian Buruma

Ian Buruma is a noteworthy author from the Netherlands, who is famous for writing nonfiction and historical fiction novels. He is also renowned historian and editor, and has worked in many parts of the world, including the United States. Most of his writings are based on the Asian culture, particularly that of the 20th century Japan and China. The other areas of work of author Buruma include Orientalism and Occidentalism.

Books in order of publication:

Standalone Novels

Playing the Game(1991) 
The China Lover(2008) 

Non-Fiction Books

The Japanese Tattoo(1980) 
Behind the Mask(1981) 
A Japanese Mirror(1984) 
God’s Dust(1989) 
The Wages of Guilt(1991) 
The Missionary and the Libertine(1996) 
Inventing Japan(1999) 
Anglomania aka Voltaire’s Coconuts(1999) 
Bad Elements(2001) 
Conversations with John Schlesinger(2006) 
Murder in Amsterdam(2006) 
Taming the Gods(2010) 
Year Zero(2013) 
Theater of Cruelty(2014) 
Their Promised Land(2016) 
A Tokyo Romance(2018)
%d bloggers like this: