Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan is a British writer who was born in 1948 in Aldershot. His father served the military and as such much of McEwan’s childhood was spent in North Africa, Germany and Asia. Upon returning to England he pursued his studies and was awarded a degree in English Literature in 1970 from the prestigious University of Sussex. He continued to follow his passion and became one of the very first graduates from the University of East Anglia’s creative writing course.

Books in order of publication:

Standalone Novels

The Cement Garden(1978) 
The Comfort of Strangers(1981) 
The Child in Time(1987) 
The Innocent(1990) 
Black Dogs(1992) 
The Daydreamer(1994) 
Enduring Love(1997) 
On Chesil Beach(2007) 
For You(2008) 
Sweet Tooth(2012) 
The Children Act(2014) 
Machines Like Me(2019) 

Short Stories/Novellas

My Purple Scented Novel(2016) 
The Cockroach(2019) 

Short Story Collections

First Love, Last Rites(1975) 
In Between the Sheets(1978) 
The Imitation Game: Three Plays for Television(1981) 
Or Shall We Die?(1983) 
A Move Abroad(1989) 
The Short Stories(1995)

Standalone Plays

The Ploughman’s Lunch(1985) 

Non-Fiction Books

Conversations with Ian McEwan(2010)
%d bloggers like this: