James E. Gunn

James Edwin Gunn (born July 12, 1923) is an American science fiction writer, editor, scholar, and anthologist. His work as an editor of anthologies includes the six-volume Road to Science Fiction series. He won the Hugo Award for “Best Related Work” in 1983 and he has won or been nominated for several other awards for his non-fiction works in the field of science fiction studies.[3] The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America made him its 24th Grand Master in 2007[4] and he was inducted by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame in 2015.[5][6] His novel The Immortals was adapted into a 1969-71 TV series starring Christopher George.[2]

Gunn is a professor emeritus of English, and the founding director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction, both at the University of Kansas.

Books in order of publication:

  • Star Bridge, Gunn and Jack Williamson (Gnome Press, 1955)
  • This Fortress World (Gnome, 1955)
  • Station in Space (Bantam Books, 1958), stories
  • The Joy Makers (Bantam, 1961)
  • Future Imperfect (Bantam, 1964), stories
  • The Immortals (Bantam, 1964), four stories; revised and expanded ed. comprising five stories, Pocket Books, 2004[1]
  • The Immortal (Bantam, 1970) – novelization from the TV series The Immortal[1]
  • The Witching Hour (Dell, 1970), stories
  • The Listeners (Scribner’s, 1972), stories[12][13] – October 1972 collection of six novelettes, five previously published (September 1968 to September 1972); “The ‘Computer Run’s between each story average 8 pages long”[16]
  • Breaking Point (Walker & Co., 1972), stories
  • The Burning (Dell, 1972), stories
  • Some Dreams Are Nightmares (Scribner’s, 1974), stories
  • The End of the Dreams (Scribner’s, 1975), stories
  • The Magicians (Scribner’s, 1976) – expanded from a novella, “Sine of the Magus” (Beyond Fantasy Fiction, May 1954)[1]
  • Kampus (Bantam, 1977)
  • The Dreamers (Simon & Schuster, 1981)
  • Crisis! (Tor Books, 1986) – fix-up of six stories published 1978 to 1985[1]
  • The Joy Machine (Star Trek, Book 80) (1996)
  • The Millennium Blues (e-reads.com, 2000; Easton Press, 2001)
  • Human Voices (Five Star Books, 2002)
  • Gift from the Stars (Easton, 2005)
  • Transcendental (Transcendental Machine #1) (Tor, 2013)[11]
  • Transgalactic (Transcendental Machine #2) (Tor, 2016)
  • Transformation (Transcendental Machine #3) (Tor, June 2017)


  • Alternate Worlds: The Illustrated History of Science Fiction (Prentice-Hall, 1975),  winner of the Locus Award and Worldcon Special Award[3]
  • Isaac Asimov: The Foundations of Science Fiction (Oxford, 1982); revised ed. (Scarecrow Press, 1996), – Hugo Award winner[3]
  • The New Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, editor (Viking Press, 1988), 067081041X – Hugo finalist[3]
  • The Science of Science-Fiction Writing (Scarecrow Press, 2000), – “reflects on the science fiction process and how to teach it”
  • Speculations on Speculation: Theories of Science Fiction, by Matthew Candelaria and Gunn (Scarecrow Press, 2005)
  • Inside Science Fiction (Scarecrow Press, 2006)
  • Reading Science Fiction, by Gunn, Marleen S. Barr, and Matthew Candelaria (Palgrave Macmillan, 2008)
  • “Science fiction imagines the digital future”, Analog 131:7&8 (Jul–Aug 2011), pp. 98–103


  • Nebula Award Stories 10 (Gollancz, 1975)

Gunn’s other anthologies include: The Road to Science Fiction, six volumes 1977 to 1998. The first four volumes, published by Mentor New American Library from 1977 to 1982, are organized chronologically and cover Gilgamesh to 1981 or “Forever” (volume 4, From Here to Forever). The last two volumes, published by White Wolf, Inc. in 1998, feature “The British Way” and “Around the World”.[1]

%d bloggers like this: