James Ellroy

James Ellroy was born under the name of Lee Earle Ellroy on March 4, 1948 in the city of Los Angeles, California. He is best known for his distinct style of writing in which he frequently omits connecting words and uses short staccato sentences. Ellroy’s most notable works are in the genres of crime fiction and historical fiction even though he occasionally ventured in some areas as well.

Books in order of publication:

Lloyd Hopkins Books

Blood on the Moon(1984) 
Because the Night(1984) 
Suicide Hill(1986) 

L.A. Quartet Books

The Black Dahlia(1987) 
The Big Nowhere(1988) 
L.A. Confidential(1990) 
White Jazz(1992) 

Underworld U.S.A. Books

American Tabloid(1995) 
The Cold Six Thousand(2001) 
Blood’s a Rover(2009) 

Standalone Novels

Brown’s Requiem(1981) 
Killer on the Road(1985) 

Short Stories


Short Story Collections

Dick Contino’s Blues and Other Stories(1982) 
Crime Wave: Reportage and Fiction from the Underside of L.A.(1999) 
Destination: Morgue!(2003) 

Best American Mystery Stories Anthologies

The Best American Mystery Stories 2002(2002) 
The Best American Mystery Stories 3(2004) 


The Best American Crime Writing 2005(2005) 
The Best American Noir of the Century(2010) 

Non-Fiction Books

My Dark Places(1996)
The Hilliker Curse: My Pursuit of Women(2010)
%d bloggers like this: