James Lee Burke

An American writer of a vast and extensive backlog of mystery titles, the novelist James Lee Burke has been writing for some time now. Known for crime stories, some of which have also been adapted for the screen, he’s has a well-established presence on the literary scene. Winning awards and recognition for his contributions to the genre, he’s a leading figure within the industry and will continue to be so for many years to come.

Books in order of publication by series:

Dave Robicheaux Books

The Neon Rain(1987) 
Heaven’s Prisoners(1988) 
Black Cherry Blues(1989) 
A Morning for Flamingos(1990) 
A Stained White Radiance(1992) 
In the Electric Mist with Confederate Dead(1993) 
Dixie City Jam(1994) 
Burning Angel(1995) 
Sunset Limited(1996) 
Cadillac Jukebox(1996) 
Purple Cane Road(2000) 
Jolie Blon’s Bounce(2002) 
Last Car to Elysian Fields(2003) 
Crusader’s Cross(2005) 
Pegasus Descending(2006) 
The Tin Roof Blowdown(2007) 
Swan Peak(2008) 
The Glass Rainbow(2010) 
Creole Belle(2012) 
Light of the World(2013) 
The New Iberia Blues(2019) 
A Private Cathedral(2020) 

Hackberry Holland Books

Lay Down My Sword and Shield(1971) 
Rain Gods(2009) 
Feast Day of Fools(2011) 

Billy Bob Holland Books

Cimarron Rose(1997) 
In the Moon of Red Ponies(2004) 

Weldon Holland Books

Wayfaring Stranger(2014) 
House of the Rising Sun(2015) 
The Jealous Kind(2016) 

Standalone Novels

Half of Paradise(1965) 
To the Bright and Shining Sun(1970) 
Two for Texas(1982) 
The Lost Get-Back Boogie(1986) 
White Doves at Morning(2002) 

Short Stories/Novellas

Texas City, 1947(1992) 

Short Story Collections

The Convict and the Other Stories(1985) 
Jesus Out to Sea(2007) 

Publication Order of Anthologies

Delta Blues(2009) 
The Best American Mystery Stories 2009(2009) 
Books to Die For(2012) 
The Best American Mystery Stories 2014(2014) 
New Orleans Noir: The Classics (Akashic Noir)(2016) 
The Best American Mystery Stories 2018(2018)
%d bloggers like this: