Jane Smiley

The full name of the writer Jane smiley is Jane Graves Smiley.  She was born on the 26th of September in California in Los Angeles in the United States of America.

Most of the writer’s works center on family and they have a pastoral setting. Jane smiley took her studies in literature at the Vassar College (B.A. in 1971) as well as in the University of Iowa (M.A. IN THE YEAR 1975, M.F.A IN 1976 and Ph.D. in 1978). From the year 1981 to the year 1996, she was an English professor at the Iowa state university and with time she resorted to writing fulltime.

Jane smiley has also worn some awards as a result of her writing and the book a thousand acres, (1991 that later on in the year 1997 was filmed) won the Pulitzer prize and it is so far known as the bestselling novel for Jane Smiley. The book Ten Days in the Hills written in 2007 that is a reworking of Giovanni Boccaccio’s Decameron was set in Hollywood.

Books in order of publication:

Ellen and Ned Books

Riding Lessons(2018) 
Saddles & Secrets(2019) 
Taking the Reins(2020) 

Horses of Oak Valley Ranch Books

The Georges and the Jewels(2009) 
Nobody’s Horse(2009) 
A Good Horse(2010) 
Secret Horse(2010) 
True Blue(2011) 
Mystery Horse(2011) 
Pie in the Sky(2012) 
Champion Horse(2012) 
Gee Whiz(2013) 
Star Horse(2013) 

Last Hundred Years: A Family Saga Books

Some Luck(2014) 
Early Warning(2015) 
Golden Age(2015) 

Standalone Novels

Barn Blind(1980) 
At Paradise Gate(1981) 
Duplicate Keys(1984) 
The Greenlanders(1988) 
A Thousand Acres(1991) 
The All-True Travels and Adventures of Lidie Newton(1998) 
Horse Heaven(1999) 
Good Faith(2003) 
Ten Days in the Hills(2007) 
Private Life(2010) 
Twenty Yawns(2016) 
Perestroika in Paris(2020) 

Short Stories/Novellas

Collections The Age of Grief(1987) 
Ordinary Love and Good Will: Two Novellas(1989) 

Non-Fiction Books

The Sagas of Icelanders(1200) 
Catskill Crafts: Artisans of the Catskill Mountains(1987) 
Charles Dickens: A Life(2002) 
A Year At the Races: Reflections On Horses, Humans, Love, Money And Luck(2004) 
Thirteen Ways of Looking at the Novel(2005) 
The Man Who Invented the Computer: The Biography of John Atanasoff, Digital Pioneer(2010) 
An Innocent Abroad: Life-Changing Trips from 35 Great Writers (With: Dave Eggers)(2014)
%d bloggers like this: