Jeannette Winterson

Jeanette Winterson CBE (born 27 August 1959) is an English writer, who became famous with her first book, Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, a semi-autobiographical novel about a sensitive teenage girl rebelling against conventional values. Some of her other novels have explored gender polarities and sexual identity, with later novels also exploring the relationship between humans and technology. She is also a broadcaster and a professor of creative writing.

Winterson has won a Whitbread Prize for a First Novel, a BAFTA Award for Best Drama, the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, the E. M. Forster Award, the St. Louis Literary Award, and is a two-time winner of the Lambda Literary Award. She has been made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE), a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE), and was elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Books in order of publication:


  • Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit (1985)
  • Boating for Beginners (1985)
  • Fit for the Future: The Guide for Women Who Want to Live Well (1986)
  • The Passion (1987)
  • Sexing the Cherry (1989)
  • Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit: the script (1990)
  • Written on the Body (1992)
  • Art & Lies: A Piece for Three Voices and a Bawd (1994)
  • Great Moments in Aviation: the script (1995)
  • Art Objects: Essays in Ecstasy and Effrontery (1995) – essays
  • Gut Symmetries (1997)
  • The World and Other Places (1998) – short stories
  • The Dreaming House (1998)
  • The Powerbook (2000)
  • The King of Capri (2003) – children’s literature
  • Lighthousekeeping (2004)
  • Weight (2005)
  • Tanglewreck (2006) – children’s literature
  • The Stone Gods (2007)
  • The Battle of the Sun (2009)
  • Ingenious (2009)
  • The Lion, The Unicorn and Me: The Donkey’s Christmas Story (2009)
  • Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? (2011) – memoir
  • The Daylight Gate (2012)
  • The Gap of Time (2015)
  • Christmas Days: 12 Stories and 12 Feasts for 12 Days (2016)
  • Courage Calls to Courage Everywhere (2018)
  • Frankissstein: A Love Story (2019)
%d bloggers like this: