Jeet Thayil

Jeet Thayil (born 1959) is an Indian poet, novelist, librettist, and musician. He is the author of several poetry collections, including These Errors Are Correct (2008), which won the Sahitya Akademi Award. His first novel, Narcopolis, (2012), won the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature, and was shortlisted for the 2012 Man Booker Prize and The Hindu Literary Prize.

Books in order of publication:


Collected Poems, Aleph Book Company, New Delhi, 2015.

These Errors Are Correct, Tranquebar Books (EastWest and Westland), Delhi, 2008.

English, Penguin Books, New Delhi and Rattapallax Press, New York, 2004.

Apocalypso, Aark Arts, London, 1997

Gemini, Penguin-Viking, New Delhi, 1992. (two-poet volume)


Narcopolis, Faber and Faber, London, 2012

The Book of Chocolate Saints, Aleph, 2017

Low, Faber and Faber, 2020

Names of the Women, Jonathan Cape, 2021

%d bloggers like this: