Jeff Shaara

Jeff Shaara, a son of Italian immigrant, was born in New Brunswick, New Jersey in 1952.The boy was brought up in Tallahassee, Florida. In 1974, Jeff graduated with a degree in criminology from Florida State University. At the age of 16, he operated a rare coin business, initially out of his home and then in a retail store. Later he moved to Tampa, where he became one among the most known precious and coin-metals dealers in Florida. Jeff’s father known as Michael Shaara died in 1988.Due to death of his father, Jeff sold his business and took over the management of the estate of his father. His father was a prolific writer of novels

When the motion picture called the “Gettysburg” was released in 1993, based on his father’s novel, called “The killer Angels,” Jeff was approached and persuaded to continue the story of his father or find a person who can write the prequel and sequel to the novel, The Killer Angels. This was after critical and commercial success of film .After much thinking and some considerable soul-searching, he decided to make a trial in tackling the project himself. His decision lead to difficult in various ways. The challenged he encountered were because he had no previous experience in writing.

Books in order of publication:

World War II: 1939-1945 Books

The Rising Tide(2006) 
The Steel Wave(2008) 
No Less Than Victory(2009) 
The Final Storm(2011) 

Civil War: 1861-1865 Books

Gods and Generals(1996) 
The Last Full Measure(1998) 

Civil War: 1861-1865, Western Theater Books

A Blaze of Glory(2012) 
A Chain of Thunder(2013) 
The Smoke at Dawn(2014) 
The Fateful Lightning(2015) 

American Revolutionary War: 1770-1783 Books

Rise to Rebellion(2001) 
The Glorious Cause(2002) 

Standalone Novels

Gone for Soldiers(2000) 
To the Last Man(2004) 
Jeff Shaara’s Civil War Battlefields(2006) 
The Frozen Hours(2017) 
The Shadow of War(2019) 
To Wake the Giant(2020) 
The Eagle’s Claw of the Battle of Midway(2021)  
%d bloggers like this: