Jerome Charyn

Jerome Charyn is an award-winning American author. With more than 50 published works, Charyn has earned a long-standing reputation as an inventive and prolific chronicler of real and imagined American life.

Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Michael Chabon calls him “one of the most important writers in American literature.” New York Newsday hailed Charyn as “a contemporary American Balzac,” and the Los Angeles Times described him as “absolutely unique among American writers.”

Since the 1964 release of Charyn’s first novel, Once Upon a Droshky, he has published thirty novels, three memoirs, eight graphic novels, two books about film, short stories, plays, and works of non-fiction. Two of his memoirs were named New York Times Book of the Year.\

Books in order of publication:

Isaac Sidel series

Blue Eyes, Simon & Schuster, 1975

Marilyn the Wild, Arbor House, 1976

The Education of Patrick Silver, Arbor House, 1976

Secret Isaac, Arbor House, 1978

The Good Policeman, Mysterious Press, 1990

Maria’s Girls, Warner Books, 1992

Montezuma’s Man, Warner Books, 1993

Little Angel Street, Warner Books, 1995

El Bronx, Warner Books, 1997

Citizen Sidel, Mysterious Press, 1999

Under the Eye of God, Mysterious Press and Open Road Media, 2012

Winter Warning: An Isaac Sidel Novel, Pegasus Books, October 2017

The Isaac Quartet, Four Walls Eight Windows, 2002 (Omnibus of the first four Sidel novels)

Other novels

Once upon a Droshky, McGraw-Hill, 1964

On the Darkening Green, McGraw-Hill, 1965

The Man Who Grew Younger, Harper & Row, 1967

Going To Jerusalem, Viking, 1967

American Scrapbook, Viking, 1969

Eisenhower, My Eisenhower, Holt, 1971

The Tar Baby, Holt, 1973

The Franklin Scare, Arbor House, 1977

The Seventh Babe, Arbor House, 1979

The Catfish Man, Arbor House, 1980

Darlin’ Bill, Arbor House, 1980

Panna Maria, Arbor House, 1982

Pinocchio’s Nose, Arbor House, 1983

War Cries Over Avenue C, Donald I. Fine, 1985

Paradise Man, Donald I. Fine, 1987

Elsinore, Warner Books, 1991

Back to Bataan, Farrar, Straus (for younger readers), 1993

Death of a Tango King, New York University Press, 1998

Captain Kidd, St. Martin’s Press, 1999

Hurricane Lady, Warner Books, 2001

The Green Lantern, Thunder’s Mouth Press, 2004

Johnny One-Eye: A Tale of the American Revolution, W.W.Norton, 2008

The Secret Life of Emily Dickinson, W.W.Norton, 2010

I Am Abraham: A Novel of Lincoln and the Civil War. W. W. Norton & Company. February 3, 2014.

Jerzy: A Novel, Bellevue Literary Press, March 2017

The Perilous Adventures of the Cowboy King: A Novel of Teddy Roosevelt and His Times, Liveright, 2019

Cesare: A Novel of War-Torn Berlin, Bellevue Literary Press, 2020

Sergeant Salinger, Bellevue Literary Press, 2021

Big Red, Liveright, 2022

Short stories and collections (selected)

The Man Who Grew Younger and Other Stories, Harper, 1967

Bitter Bronx: Thirteen Stories, Liveright Publishing Corporation, 2015,

“The Blue Book of Crime”, in The New Black Mask, Harcourt Brace, 1986

“Fantomas in New York”, in A Matter of Crime, Harcourt Brace, 1988

“Young Isaac”, in The Armchair Detective, 1990


Metropolis: New York as Myth, Marketplace and Magical Land, Putnam’s, 1986

Movieland: Hollywood and the Great American Dream Culture, Putnam’s, 1989, New York University Press, 1996

The Dark Lady from Belorusse, St. Martin’s Press, 1997

Hemingway : Portrait de l’artiste en guerrier blessé, coll. Découvertes Gallimard (nº 371), Paris: Gallimard, 1999

The Black Swan, St. Martin’s Press, 2000

Sizzling Chops & Devilish Spins: Ping-Pong and the Art of Staying Alive, Four Walls Eight Windows, 2001

Bronx Boy: A Memoir. St. Martin’s Press. April 11, 2002.

Gangsters & Gold Diggers: Old New York, the Jazz Age, and the Birth of Broadway, Four Walls Eight Windows, 2003

Savage Shorthand: The Life and Death of Isaac Babel. Random House Publishing Group. December 18, 2007.

Inside the Hornet’s Head: an anthology of Jewish American Writing, Thunder’s Mouth Press, 2005

Raised by Wolves: The Turbulent Art and Times of Quentin Tarantino, Thunder’s Mouth Press, 2005

Marilyn : La dernière déesse, Découvertes Gallimard (n° 517), Gallimard, 2007

Marilyn: The Last Goddess [an illustrated biography of Marilyn Monroe from Abrams Discoveries series], Abrams, 2008

Joe DiMaggio: The Long Vigil, Yale University Press, American Icon series, March 2011

A Loaded Gun: Emily Dickinson for the 21st Century, Bellevue Literary Press, March 2016

Selected plays and documentaries

George (three-act play) developed at the Actors Studio, under Arthur Penn, staged readings at La Maison des Ecrivains (Paris 1988) and Ubu Repertory Theater (NY 1990)

%d bloggers like this: