Joan Lindsay

Joan à Beckett Lindsay (16 November 1896 – 23 December 1984), also known as Lady Lindsay, was an Australian novelist, playwright, essayist, and visual artist. Trained in her youth as a painter, Lindsay published her first literary work in 1936 at age forty under a pseudonym, a satirical novel titled Through Darkest Pondelayo. Her second novel, Time Without Clocks, was published nearly thirty years later, and was a semi-autobiographical account of the early years of her marriage to artist Daryl Lindsay.

In 1967, Lindsay published her most celebrated work, Picnic at Hanging Rock, a historical Gothic novel detailing the vanishing of three schoolgirls and their teacher at the site of a monolith during one summer. The novel sparked critical and public interest for its ambivalent presentation as a true story as well as its vague conclusion and is widely considered to be one of the most important Australian novels. It was adapted into a 1975 film of the same name.

Books in order of publication:

Through Darkest Pondelayo (1936)

Time Without Clocks (1962)

Facts Soft and Hard (1964)

Picnic at Hanging Rock (1967)

The Secret of Hanging Rock (excised final chapter to Picnic at Hanging Rock, published posthumously in 1987)

Syd Sixpence (1982)

Short stories

Holiday (1923)

Yellow Roses (1924)

The Awakening (1924)

Good with Cats (1980)

%d bloggers like this: