John B. Sanford

John B. Sanford was an American screenwriter and author who wrote 24 books. He wrote half of his books after he was 80. Sanford was a member of the Communist Party with his screenwriter wife effectively ending their Hollywood career after they refused to testify before the House Un-American Activities Committee. After his wife died in 1989, Sanford devoted his writing to exploring their 50-year marriage. Sanford left three unpublished books.

Books in order of publication:

Books in order of publication:

The Old Man’s Place, New York: Albert and Charles Boni, 1935.

Seventy Times Seven, New York: A. A. Knopf, 1939.

The People from Heaven, University of Illinois Press, 1943.

A Man without Shoes, Los Angeles: Plantin Press, 1951.

The Land That Touches Mine, London, J. Cape, 1953.

Every Island Fled Away, New York: Norton, 1964.

The $300 Man, Englewood Cliffs: Prentice-Hall, 1967.

A More Goodly Country: A Personal History of America, New York, Horizon Press, 1975.

Adirondack Stories, Santa Barbara, Capra Press, 1976.

Intruders in Paradise, University of Illinois Press, 1997

Adirondack Stories, Santa Barbara: Capra Press, 1976.

View From This Wilderness: American Literature as History, Santa Barbara: Capra Press, 1977.

To Feed Their Hopes. A Book of American Women, University of Illinois Press, 1980.

The Color of the Air, Santa Barbara: Black Sparrow Press, 1985.

A Very Good Land to Fall With, Santa Rosa: Black Sparrow Press, 1987.

Scenes from the life of an American Jew ,Santa Barbara, Black Sparrow Press, 1985–1991.

The winters of that country. Tales of the man-made seasons, David R. Godine, Publisher, 1984

The waters of darkness, David R. Godine Publisher, 1986

A walk in the fire, David R. Godine Publisher, 1989

Maggie: A Love Story, Fort Lee, N.J., Barricade Books, 1993.

The view from Mt. Morris. A Harlem Boyhood, New York, Barricade Books, 1994.

We have a little sister. Marguerite, the Midwest years, Capra Press, 1995.

A book of American women, University of Illinois Press, 1996

Tambour, University of Wisconsin Press, 2002.

A Palace of Silver. A memoir of Maggie Roberts, Santa Barbara, Capra Press, 2003.

(with Jonathan Lethem and Nathanael West) Miss Lonelyhearts and the Day of the Locust, New Directions Publishing, 2009.

As Julian L. Shapiro:

The Water Wheel, The Dragon Press, 1933.

%d bloggers like this: