John Edward Williams

John Edward Williams (August 29, 1922 – March 3, 1994) was an American author, editor, and professor. He was best known for his novels Butcher’s Crossing (1960), Stoner (1965), and Augustus (1972), which won a U.S. National Book Award.

Books in order of publication:


Nothing But the Night (1948)

Butcher’s Crossing (1960)

Stoner (1965)

Augustus (1972) —shared the National Book Award


The Broken Landscape: Poems (1949)

The Necessary Lie (1965)

Edited Anthology

English Renaissance Poetry: A Collection of Shorter Poems from Skelton to Jonson (1963)

%d bloggers like this: