John Le Carre

David J.M. Cornwell (also know as John le Carre, his artistic pseudonym) was born on the 19th of October 1931, in Poole, a coastal town in the county of Dorset, in England. John le Carre has revolutionized the spy fiction genre, creating his own niche and his own legion of followers and imitators. None of those who tried to replicate his style, however, were able to recreate the same fusion of suspense, analytic skills, rhythm and irony that the great English writer produces in each and every book. It is only by exploring his biography that we can really appreciate the style of Mr. Cronwell. The inspiration for many of his plots, in fact, comes directly from his incredible life.

Books in order of publication:

George Smiley Books

Call for the Dead(1961) 
A Murder of Quality(1962) 
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold(1963) 
The Looking Glass War(1965) 
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy(1974) 
The Honourable Schoolboy(1977) 
Smiley’s People(1979) 
The Secret Pilgrim(1990) 
A Legacy of Spies(2017) 

Karla Trilogy Books

Smiley’s People(1979)

John le Carre Standalone Novels

A Small Town in Germany(1968) 
The Naive and Sentimental Lover(1971) 
The Little Drummer Girl(1983) 
A Perfect Spy(1986) 
The Russia House(1989) 
The Night Manager(1993) 
Our Game(1994) 
The Tailor of Panama(1996) 
Single & Single(1999) 
The Constant Gardener(2001) 
Absolute Friends(2003) 
The Mission Song(2006) 
A Most Wanted Man(2008) 
Our Kind of Traitor(2010) 
A Delicate Truth(2013) 
Agent Running in the Field(2019) 

Short Stories/Novellas

Dare I Weep, Dare I Mourn?(2016) 

John le Carr Short Story Collections

Sarratt and the Draper of Watford(1999) 

John Le Carre Non Fiction Books

The Pigeon Tunnel(2016) 


The Book of Spies: An Anthology of Literary Espionage(2003)
%d bloggers like this: