John Matthews

John Matthews is a historian, folklorist and author. He has been a full-time writer since 1980 and has produced over ninety books on the Arthurian Legends and Grail Studies, as well as short stories and a volume of poetry. He has devoted much of the past thirty years to the study of Arthurian Traditions and myths in general.

His best known and most widely read works are ‘Pirates’ (Carlton/Atheneum), No 1 children’s book on the New York Times Review best-seller list for 22 weeks in 2006, ‘The Grail, Quest for Eternal Life’ (Thames & Hudson, 1981) ‘The Encyclopaedia of Celtic Wisdom’ (Element, 1994) and ‘The Winter Solstice’ (Quest Books, 1999) which won the Benjamin Franklin Award for that year.

His book ‘Celtic Warrior Chiefs’ was a New York Public Library recommended title for young people.

Author website:

Books in order of publication:

The Arthurian Poems of Charles Williams – 1944

The Grail Tradition – 1955

Merlin in Calydon – 1981

The Grail Seeker’s Companion – 1986

The Arthurian Tradition – 1989

Celtic Shaman: A Practical Guide – 1991

Celtic Shaman’s Pack – 1995

Book of Celtic Verse: A Treasury of Poetry, Dreams and Visions – 1999

The Book of Arthur: Lost Tales from the Round Table: The Lost Legends of King Arthur and His Knights of the Round Table – 2002

Celtic Totem Animals – 2002

The Complete Arthurian Tarot – 2003

Sir Gawain, Knight of the Goddess – 2003

The Sidhe – 2004

The Grail Tarot – 2007

Arthur of Albion – 2008

Chronicles of Arthur – 2009

Morte D’Arthur: The Coming of the King – 2011

The Camelot Oracle – 2012

The Fourth Gwenevere – 2014

Arthurian Magic – 2017

The Complete King Arthur – 2017

The Spirit of Nature Oracle – 2018

The Sword of Ice and Fire – 2018

The Book of Merlin: Magic, Legend, History – 2020

The Great Book of King Arthur – 2022

The Nanteos Grail : The Evolution of a Holy Relic – 2022


%d bloggers like this: