Jonathan Coe

Jonathan Coe FRSL (/koʊ/; born 19 August 1961) is an English novelist and writer. His work has an underlying preoccupation with political issues, although this serious engagement is often expressed comically in the form of satire. For example, What a Carve Up! reworks the plot of an old 1960s spoof horror film of the same name. It is set within the “carve up” of the UK’s resources which was carried out by Margaret Thatcher’s Conservative governments of the 1980s.

Books in order of publication:


  • The Accidental Woman, Duckworth, 1987
  • A Touch of Love, Duckworth, 1989
  • The Dwarves of Death, Fourth Estate, 1990
  • What a Carve Up! or The Winshaw Legacy Viking, 1994 (winner of the 1994 John Llewellyn Rhys Prize)
  • The House of Sleep, Viking, 1997 (winner of the Prix Médicis)
  • The Rotters’ Club, Viking, 2001 (winner of the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize).
  • The Closed Circle, Viking, 2004
  • The Rain Before It Falls, Viking, 2007
  • The Terrible Privacy of Maxwell Sim, Viking, 2010
  • Expo 58, Viking, 2013
  • Number 11, Viking, 2015
  • Middle England, Viking, 2018
  • Mr Wilder and Me, Viking, 2020

Books for children

  • La storia di Gulliver, L’espresso 2011
  • Lo specchio dei desideri, Feltrinelli 2012


  • Humphrey Bogart: Take It and Like It, London: Bloomsbury, 1991
  • James Stewart: Leading Man, London: Bloomsbury, 1994
  • Like a Fiery Elephant: The Story of B. S. Johnson, London: Picador, 2004 (winner of the 2005 Samuel Johnson Prize for non-fiction)
%d bloggers like this: