Jonathan Kellerman

Jonathan Kellerman was born in New York City in 1949 and grew up in Los Angeles. He helped work his way through UCLA as an editorial cartoonist, columnist, editor, and freelance musician. As a senior, at the age of 22, he won a Samuel Goldwyn Writing Award for fiction.

Like his fictional protagonist, Alex Delaware, Jonathan received at Ph.D. in psychology at the age of 24, with a specialty in the treatment of children. He served internships in clinical psychology and pediatric psychology at Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles and was a post-doctoral HEW Fellow in Psychology and Human Development at CHLA.

Author website:

Books in order of publication:

Alex Delaware Series

When the Bough Breaks (1985) (1986 Edgar Award and Anthony awards, Best First Novel) This novel was originally titled Shrunken Heads. The novel was adapted as a TV movie in 1986 starring Ted Danson and Richard Masur.

Blood Test (1986)

Over the Edge (1987)

Silent Partner (1989)

Time Bomb (1990)

Private Eyes (1992)

Devil’s Waltz (1993)

Bad Love (1994)

Self-Defense (1995)

The Web (1996)

The Clinic (1997)

Survival of the Fittest (1997): Featuring Daniel Shalom Sharavi of The Butcher’s Theater (1988)

Monster (1999)

Dr. Death (2000)

Flesh and Blood (2001)

The Murder Book (2002)

A Cold Heart (2003)

Therapy (2004)

Rage (2005)

Gone (2006)

Obsession (2007)

Compulsion (March 2008)

Bones (October 2008)

Evidence (October 2009)

Deception (March 2010)

Mystery (March 2011)

Victims (February 2012)

Guilt (2013)

Killer (2014)

Motive (2015)

Breakdown (2016)

Heartbreak Hotel (2017)

Night Moves (February 13, 2018)

The Wedding Guest (February 5, 2019)

The Museum of Desire (February 4, 2020)

Serpentine (February 2, 2021)

City of the Dead (February 8, 2022)

Petra Connor

Billy Straight (1998)

“A Cold Heart” (2003) with Alex Delaware

Twisted (2004)

Jacob Lev (with Jesse Kellerman)

The Golem of Hollywood (2014)

The Golem of Paris (2015)

Clay Edison (with Jesse Kellerman)

Crime Scene (2017)

A Measure of Darkness (July 31, 2018)

Half Moon Bay (aka Lost Souls) (July 2020)

The Burning (September 21, 2021)

Nonseries novels

The Butcher’s Theater (1988)

The Conspiracy Club (2003)

Double Homicide (2005) (with Faye Kellerman)

Capital Crimes (2007) (with Faye Kellerman)

True Detectives (2009) Characters also appear in Bones (October 2008)

The Right Thing to Do (2015) (eBook Short Story)

The Murderer’s Daughter (2015)


Blood Test, When the Bough Breaks, Over the Edge (1990)

Devil’s Waltz; Bad Love (2003)

Double Homicide (2005) (with Faye Kellerman)


Psychological Aspects of Childhood Cancer (1980)

Helping the Fearful Child (1981)

Savage Spawn: Reflections on Violent Children (1999)

The Best American Crime Reporting 2008 (2008) (with Thomas H. Cook and Otto Penzler)

With Strings Attached: The Art and Beauty of Vintage Guitars (2008)

%d bloggers like this: