Jonathan Raban

Jonathan Raban (born 14 June 1942, Hempton, Norfolk, England) is a British travel writer, critic, and novelist. He has received several awards, such as the National Book Critics Circle Award. The Royal Society of Literature’s Heinemann Award, the Thomas Cook Travel Book Award, the PEN West Creative Nonfiction Award, the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Award, and a 1997 Washington State Governor’s Writer’s Award. Since 1990 he has lived with his daughter in Seattle. In 2003, his novel Waxwings was long listed for the Man Booker Prize.

Books in order of publication:

The Technique of Modern Fiction (1968)

Mark Twain: Huckleberry Finn (1968)

The Society of the Poem (1971)

Soft City (1974)

Arabia Through the Looking Glass (1979)

Old Glory: An American Voyage (1981)

Foreign Land (1985)

Coasting (1986)

For Love & Money: A Writing Life, 1968-1987 (1989)

Hunting Mister Heartbreak: A Discovery of America (1990)

The Oxford Book of the Sea (1992)

Bad Land: An American Romance (1996)

Passage to Juneau: A Sea and Its Meanings (travel writing; 1999)

Waxwings (2003)

My Holy War: Dispatches From the Home Front (2006)

Surveillance (2006)

Driving Home: An American Journey (2011)

%d bloggers like this: