Joseph Ralph McGinniss Sr.

Joseph Ralph McGinniss Sr. (December 9, 1942 – March 10, 2014) was an American non-fiction writer and novelist. The author of twelve books, he first came to prominence with the best-selling The Selling of the President 1968 which described the marketing of then-presidential candidate Richard Nixon. He is popularly known for his trilogy of bestselling true crime books — Fatal Vision, Blind Faith and Cruel Doubt — which were adapted into TV miniseries in the 1980s and 90s. His last book was The Rogue: Searching for the Real Sarah Palin, an account of Sarah Palin, the former governor of Alaska who was the 2008 Republican vice-presidential nominee.

Books in order of publication:


The Selling of the President 1968 (1969),  Penguin, 272 pages.

The Dream Team (1972),  Penguin Books, 160 pages.

Heroes (1976), Touchstone Books, 176 pages.

Going to Extremes (1980), Epicenter Press, 320 pages.

Fatal Vision (1983), Putnam Adult, 663 pages.

Blind Faith (1989),  G. P. Putnam’s Sons, 381 pages.

Cruel Doubt (1991), Simon & Schuster 464 pages.

The Last Brother: The Rise and Fall of Teddy Kennedy (1993), Simon & Schuster, 624 pages.

The Miracle of Castel di Sangro (1999),  Little Brown and Company; 407 pages.

The Big Horse (2004),  Simon & Schuster, 272 pages.

Never Enough (2007), Simon & Schuster, 368 pages.

The Rogue: Searching for the Real Sarah Palin (2011)

%d bloggers like this: