Joy Williams

Joy Williams is the author of four novels. Her first, State of Grace (1973), was nominated for a National Book Award for Fiction. Her most recent novel, The Quick and the Dead (2000), was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. Her first collection of short stories was Taking Care, published in 1982. A second collection, Escapes, followed in 1990. A 2001 essay collection, Ill Nature: Rants and Reflections on Humanity and Other Animals, was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for Criticism. Honored Guest, a collection of short stories, was published in 2004. A 30th anniversary reprint of The Changeling was issued in 2008 with an introduction by the American novelist Rick Moody.

Her stories and essays are frequently anthologized, and she has received many awards and honors, including the Harold and Mildred Strauss Living Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and the Rea Award for the Short Story.

Books in order of publication:

State of Grace – 1973

The Changeling – 1978

Taking Care – 1982

Breaking and Entering – 1988

Escapes – 1990

The Quick and the Dead – 2000

Ill Nature – 2001

Honored Guest – 2004

99 Stories of God – 2013

The Visiting Privilege: New and Collected Stories – 2015

%d bloggers like this: