Kate Grenville

Kate Grenville is a historical fiction author from Melbourne best known as the author of the “Thornhill Family” series. “Bearded Ladies,” which is a collection of stories is her first work that she published in 1984. Her fiction works have been published to much acclaim in her home country of Australia as well as across the world. They have also won national state and international awards. Her nonfiction works which are instruction manuals on the art of writing are used as course books in many universities and schools.

Books in order of publication:

Singer Family Books

Lilian’s Story(1984) 
Joan Makes History(1988) 
Dark Places / Albion’s Story(1994) 

Thornhill Family Books

The Secret River(2005) 
The Lieutenant(2007) 
Sarah Thornhill(2011) 

Standalone Novels

The Idea of Perfection(1999) 
A Room Made of Leaves(2020) 


Bearded Ladies(1984)

Non-Fiction Books

Making Stories(1993) 
The Writing Book: A Workbook for Fiction Writers(1993) 
Writing from Start to Finish: A Six-Step Guide(2001) 
Searching for the Secret River(2006) 
One Life: My Mother’s Story(2015) 
The Case Against Fragrance(2017)
%d bloggers like this: