Katherine Mansfield

Kathleen Mansfield Murry (née Beauchamp) was a prominent New Zealand modernist writer of short fiction who wrote under the pen name of Katherine Mansfield.

Katherine Mansfield is widely considered one of the best short story writers of her period. Several her works, including “Miss Brill”, “Prelude”, “The Garden Party”, “The Doll’s House”, and later works such as “The Fly”, are frequently collected in short story anthologies. Mansfield also proved ahead of her time in her adoration of Russian playwright and short story writer Anton Chekhov and incorporated some of his themes and techniques into her writing.

Katherine Mansfield was part of a “new dawn” in English literature with T. S. Eliot, James Joyce, and Virginia Woolf. She was associated with the brilliant group of writers who made the London of the period the centre of the literary world.

Books in order of publication:


In a German Pension (1911)

Bliss and Other Stories (1920)

The Garden Party and Other Stories (1922)

The Doves’ Nest and Other Stories (1923)

Poems (1923)

Something Childish and Other Stories (1924)

The Journal of Katherine Mansfield (1927, 1954)

The Letters of Katherine Mansfield (2 vols., 1928–29)

The Aloe (1930)

Novels and Novelists (1930)

The Short Stories of Katherine Mansfield (1937)

The Scrapbook of Katherine Mansfield (1939)

The Collected Stories of Katherine Mansfield (1945, 1974)

Letters to John Middleton Murry, 1913–1922 (1951)

The Urewera Notebook (1978)

The Critical Writings of Katherine Mansfield (1987)

The Collected Letters of Katherine Mansfield (4 vols., 1984–96)

Vol. 1, 1903–17

Vol. 2, 1918–19

Vol. 3, 1919–20

Vol. 4, 1920–21

The Katherine Mansfield Notebooks (2 vols., 1997)

The Montana Stories (2001, a collection of all the material written by Mansfield from June 1921 until her death)

The collected poems of Katherine Mansfield, edited by Gerri Kimber and Claire Davison, Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, [2016]

%d bloggers like this: