Kerry Greenwood

Written by Australian author Kerry Greenwood, this popular series of mystery novels has been running for some time now as they’ve garnered both critical and commercial attention worldwide. With over twenty novels to date and plenty more to come, this franchise features the ongoing exploits of its eponymous heroine who leads the way in solving a variety of cases. Set in the 1920s, it portrays the detective of wealthy aristocratic origin solving crimes and using her wits to uncover the truth, whatever that may be. Talented as she is smart, she is able to fly planes and drive cars, her being somewhat of a free-spirited bohemian of the time, as she dazzles those around her. Born at the turn of the century, she is very much a product of her time, being only 28 at the beginning of the series, she immerses herself within the period. Set in St. Kilda, Melbourne, it also has a very attentive focus on the location as well, with its well researched and fully realized environment.

Kerry Greenwood sets her up as a strong female who is independently minded as she flouts the various conventions of the period that were imposed upon women then. This has led to her becoming popular with readers worldwide as she brings in a global audience that are increasing day-by-day and will continue to do so. Gaining awards and various other critical acknowledgements for her work, she shows no signs of stopping anytime soon as her franchise will continue to expand into the foreseeable future.

Books in order of publication by series:

Phryne Fisher Books

Cocaine Blues(1989) 
Flying too High(1990) 
Murder on the Ballarat Train(1991) 
Death at Victoria Dock(1992) 
The Green Mill Murder(1993) 
Blood and Circuses(1994) 
Ruddy Gore(1995) 
Urn Burial(1996) 
Raisins and Almonds(1997) 
Death Before Wicket(1999) 
Away with the Fairies(2001) 
Murder in Montparnasse(2002) 
The Castlemaine Murders(2003) 
Queen of the Flowers(2004) 
Death by Water(2005) 
Murder in the Dark(2006) 
Murder on a Midsummer Night(2008) 
Dead Man’s Chest(2010) 
Unnatural Habits(2012) 
Murder and Mendelssohn(2014) 
Death in Daylesford(2020)
Murder in Williamstown(2022)

Three Days Books

The Broken Wheel(1996) 
Cave Rats(1997) 

Chronological Order of Three Days Books

The Broken Wheel(1996) 
Cave Rats(1997) 

Delphic Women Books










Corinna Chapman Books

Earthly Delights



Heavenly Pleasures



Devil’s Food



Trick or Treat



Forbidden Fruit



Cooking the Books



The Spotted Dog


Stormbringer Books

The Rat and the Raven



Raven’s Rising



Lightning Nest



Adventures In Love & Time Books




Herotica 2






Standalone Novels

The Wandering Icon



The Childstone Cycle






The Three-Pronged Dagger






The Long Walk



Journey to Eureka



Out of the Black Land



Evan’s Gallipoli



Short Story Collections

Salmancis / Jetsam


 Non-Fiction Books

The Thing She Loves



Tamam Shud: The Somerton Man Mystery



On Murder: True Crime Writing In Australia Books

On Murder


On Murder 2


Spinouts Silver Books

Alien Invasions (With: Lucy Sussex,,Paul Collins)



Heroic Feats (By:,,Paul Collins)



Anthology series.


Crosstown Traffic



Recipes for Crime




Phryne Fisher Collection

A Question of Death: An Illustrated Phryne Fisher Treasury(2008)
%d bloggers like this: