Lane Smith

Lane Smith (born August 25, 1959) is an American illustrator and writer of children’s books. He is the Kate Greenaway medalist (2017) known for his eclectic visuals and subject matter both humorous and earnest, such as the contemplative Grandpa Green which received a Caldecott Honor in 2012 and the outlandish Stinky Cheese Man which received a Caldecott Honor in 1992.

Books in order of publication:

As writer and illustrator

  • Flying Jake (Viking Children’s Books, 1988)
  • Glasses (Who Needs ‘Em?) (Viking, 1991)
  • The Big Pets (Viking, 1991)
  • The Happy Hocky Family! (Viking, 1993)
  • Pinnochio: The Boy (Viking, 2002)
  • The Happy Hocky Family Moves to the Country! (Viking, 2003)
  • John, Paul, George, and Ben (Hyperion Press, 2006)
  • Madam President (Viking, 2008)
  • The Big Elephant In The Room (Hyperion, 2009)
  • It’s a Book (Roaring Brook Press, 2010)
  • It’s a Little Book (Roaring Brook, 2011)
  • Grandpa Green (Roaring Brook, 2011) – Caldecott Honor Book
  • Abe Lincoln’s Dream (Roaring Brook, 2012)
  • Return to Augie Hobble (Roaring Brook, 2015)
  • There Is a Tribe of Kids (Roaring Brook, 2016)
  • A Perfect Day (Roaring Brook, 2017)
%d bloggers like this: