Lee Child

Lee Child is best known for his main character, Jack Reacher. In fact, Lee Child has written 17 “Jack Reacher” books. These are best described as thrillers and in 2012, Tom Cruise starred as the main character in a movie titled, simply, “Reacher.”

Lee Child has also been the recipient of several awards including the Anthony and the Barry awards for Best First Mystery for his first Jack Reacher novel, “Killing Floor.” Another Reacher novel, “The Enemy”, won the Barry and the Nero awards for Best Novel.

With all these accolades one would think Lee Child was born to be an author. But as usually is the case, his success story has many twists and turns that lead him on the path to writing his bestselling novels and to ultimately create this alluring character.

Books in order of publication:

Jack Reacher Books

Killing Floor(1997) 
Die Trying(1998) 
Running Blind / The Visitor(2000) 
Echo Burning(2001) 
Without Fail(2002) 
The Enemy(2004) 
One Shot(2005) 
The Hard Way(2006) 
Bad Luck and Trouble(2007) 
Nothing to Lose(2008) 
Gone Tomorrow(2009) 
61 Hours(2010) 
Worth Dying For(2010) 
The Affair(2011) 
A Wanted Man(2012) 
Never Go Back(2013) 
Make Me(2015) 
Night School(2016) 
The Midnight Line(2017) 
Past Tense(2018) 
Blue Moon(2019) 
The Sentinel (With: Andrew Child)(2020) 
Chronologically, The Enemy should be read first followed by Night School and then The Affair.You can then read the rest of the novels in publication order.

The short story Second Son features Jack Reacher at 13 years old and High Heat has Reacher as 16.

Jack Reacher Short Stories/Novellas

Second Son(2011) 
Deep Down(2012) 
High Heat(2013) 
Not a Drill(2014) 
Good and Valuable Consideration: Jack Reacher vs. Nick Heller (With: Joseph Finder)(2014) 
Small Wars(2015) 
The Christmas Scorpion(2018) 
Cleaning the Gold (With: Karin Slaughter)(2019) 

Jack Reacher Collections

No Middle Name(2017)

Non-Fiction Books

Jack Reacher’s Rules(2012) 
The Hero(2019) 

Harold Middleton Books

The Chopin Manuscript(2007) 
The Copper Bracelet(2009) 
The Harold Middleton books are serial thrillers which are compiled by various authors.

Akashic Drug Chronicles Books

The Cocaine Chronicles (With: Laura Lippman,Ken Bruen,Jervey Tervalon)(2005) 
The Marijuana Chronicles (By:Jonathan Santlofer)(2013) 
The Nicotine Chronicles (With: Joyce Carol Oates,Hannah Tinti,,Cara Black,,,Jonathan Ames)(2020) 


Like a Charm(2004) 
Greatest Hits(2005) 
The Cocaine Chronicles(2005) 
Mystery Writers of America Presents Death Do Us Part: New Stories About Love, Lust, and Murder(2006) 
The Best British Mysteries IV(2007) 
Killer Year: Stories to Die For…(2008) 
First Thrills(2010) 
The Dark End of the Street(2010) 
Mystery Writers of America Presents The Rich and the Dead(2011) 
The Rich and the Dead(2011) 
A Study in Sherlock(2011) 
Mystery Writers of America Presents Vengeance(2012) 
Inherit the Dead(2013) 
Belfast Noir(2014) 
Manhattan Mayhem(2015) 
The Best American Mystery Stories 2015(2015) 
In Sunlight or In Shadow: Stories Inspired by the Paintings of Edward Hopper(2016) 
The Best American Mystery Stories 2018(2018) 
Dear NHS(2020)
%d bloggers like this: