Lloyd Alexander

Lloyd Alexander is an American author of fiction. He was born in 1924 and grew up in a western suburb of Philadelphia called Drexel Hill. His father worked as a stockbroker, but like many other families at the time, they were greatly affected by the Great Depression.

His parents would buy books at the second-hand store to fill up the empty shelves, despite only reading the newspaper themselves. A young Lloyd would avidly read books written by Twain, Dickens, and Shakespeare, and he loved fantastical mythology, saying that King Arthur was one of his early heroes.

Books in order of publication:

Chronicles of Prydain Books

The Book of Three(1964) 
The Black Cauldron(1965) 
The Castle of Llyr(1966) 
Taran Wanderer(1967) 
The High King(1968) 

Westmark Trilogy Books

The Kestrel(1982) 
The Beggar Queen(1984) 

Vesper Holly Books

The Illyrian Adventure(1986) 
The El Dorado Adventure(1987) 
The Drackenberg Adventure(1988) 
The Jedera Adventure(1989) 
The Philadelphia Adventure(1990) 
The Xanadu Adventure(2005) 

Standalone Novels

And Let the Credit Go(1955) 
My Five Tigers The Cats in My Life(1956) 
Time Cat(1963) 
Fifty Years in the Doghouse(1964) 
Send for Ryan!(1965) 
The Marvelous Misadventures of Sebastian(1970) 
The King’s Fountain(1971) 
The Four Donkeys(1972) 
The Cat Who Wished to Be a Man(1973) 
The Wizard in the Tree(1974) 
The First Two Lives of Lukas-Kasha(1978) 
The Prydain Chronicles(1991) 
The Remarkable Journey of Prince Jen(1991) 
The Arkadians(1995) 
The House Gobbaleen(1995) 
The Iron Ring(1997) 
Gypsy Rizka(1999) 
How the Cat Swallowed Thunder(2000) 
The Fantastical Adventures of the Invisible Boy / The Gawgon and the Boy(2001) 
A Lloyd Alexander Collection(2001) 
The Rope Trick(2002) 
The Golden Dream of Carlo Chuchio(2007) 

Short Story Collections

The Foundling and Other Tales of Prydain(1973) 
The Town Cats and Other Tales(1977) 

Picture Books

Coll and His White Pig(1965) 
The Truthful Harp(1967) 
The Fortune-Tellers(1992)   
Non-Fiction Books   August Bondi: Border Hawk(1958) 
Aaron Lopez: The Flagship Hope(1960) 
My Cats and Me: The Story of an Understanding (A Blank Journal)(1989)
%d bloggers like this: