Lyman Frank Baum

Lyman Frank Baum (/bɔːm/; May 15, 1856 – May 6, 1919) was an American author best known for his children’s books, particularly The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and its sequels. He wrote 14 novels in the Oz series, plus 41 other novels (not including four lost, unpublished novels), 83 short stories, over 200 poems, and at least 42 scripts. He made numerous attempts to bring his works to the stage and screen; the 1939 adaptation of the first Oz book became a landmark of 20th-century cinema.

Born and raised in upstate New York, Baum moved west after an unsuccessful stint as a theater producer and playwright. He and his wife opened a store in South Dakota, and he edited and published a newspaper. They then moved to Chicago, where he worked as a newspaper reporter and published children’s literature, coming out with the first Oz book in 1900. While continuing his writing, among his final projects he sought to establish a movie studio focused on children’s films in Los Angeles, California.

His works anticipated such later commonplaces as television, augmented reality, laptop computers (The Master Key), wireless telephones (Tik-Tok of Oz), women in high-risk and action-heavy occupations (Mary Louise in the Country), and the ubiquity of clothes advertising (Aunt Jane’s Nieces at Work).

Books in order of publication:


Mother Goose in Prose (1897)

By the Candelabra’s Glare (1898)

Father Goose: His Book (1899)

A New Wonderland (1900)

The Army Alphabet (1900)

The Navy Alphabet (1900)

American Fairy Tales (1901)

The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus (1902)

The Boy Fortune Hunters in Egypt (1908)

The Boy Fortune Hunters in Panama (1908)

Fortune Hunters in China

The Boy Fortune Hunters in the South Seas (1911)

The Sea Fairies (1911)

Sky Island (1912)

Queen Zixi of Ix (1905)

The Fate of a Crown (1905)

Sam Steele’s Adventures on Land and Sea (1906)

Daughters of Destiny (novel) (1906)

The Last Egyptian (1907)

Land of Oz works

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1900)

The Marvelous Land of Oz (1904)

Queer Visitors from the Marvelous Land of Oz (1905, comic strip depicting 27 stories)

The Woggle-Bug Book (1905)

Ozma of Oz (1907)

Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz (1908)

The Road to Oz (1909)

The Emerald City of Oz (1910)

The Patchwork Girl of Oz (1913)

Little Wizard Stories of Oz (1913, collection of 6 short stories)

Tik-Tok of Oz (1914)

The Scarecrow of Oz (1915)

Rinkitink in Oz (1916)

The Lost Princess of Oz (1917)

The Tin Woodman of Oz (1918)

The Magic of Oz (1919, posthumously published)

Glinda of Oz (1920, posthumously published)

Aunt Jane’s Nieces Books as Edith Van Dyne

Aunt Jane’s Nieces(1906)   
Aunt Jane’s Nieces Abroad(1907) 
Aunt Jane’s Nieces at Millville(1908) 
Aunt Jane’s Nieces at Work(1909) 
Aunt Jane’s Nieces In Society(1910) 
Aunt Jane’s Nieces and Uncle John(1911) 
Aunt Jane’s Nieces on Vacation(1912) 
Aunt Jane’s Nieces on the Ranch(1913) 
Aunt Jane’s Nieces Out West(1914) 
Aunt Jane’s Nieces in the Red Cross(1915) 

Boy Fortune Hunters Books as Floyd Akers

The Boy Fortune Hunters of Alaska(1906) 
The Boy Fortune Hunters in Panama(1907) 
The Boy Fortune Hunters in Egypt(1908) 
The Boy Fortune Hunters in China(1909) 
The Boy Fortune Hunters in Yucatan(1910) 
The Boy Fortune Hunters in the South Seas(1911) 

Publication Order of Daring Twins Books

The Secret of the Lost Fortune(1911) 
Phoebe Daring(1912) 

Flying Girl Books as Edith Van Dyne

The Flying Girl(1911) 
The Flying Girl and Her Chum(1911) 

Magical Creatures Books

A Kidnapped Santa Claus(1904)

Mary Louise Books

as Edith Van Dyne

Mary Louise(1916) 
Mary Louise in the Country(1916) 
Mary Louise Solves a Mystery(1917) 
Mary Louise and the Liberty Girls(1918) 
Mary Louise Adopts a Soldier(1919) 
Mary Louise and Josie O’Gorman (By:Emma Speed Sampson)(1922)
%d bloggers like this: