Madeleine L’Engle

Madeleine L’Engle Camp (/ˈlɛŋɡəl/; November 29, 1918 – September 6, 2007) was an American writer of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and young adult fiction, including A Wrinkle in Time and its sequels: A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, Many Waters, and An Acceptable Time. Her works reflect both her Christian faith and her strong interest in science.

Books in order of publication:

Novels for young adults

Chronos & Kairos series:

  • Chronos series:

Austin Family Chronicles series:

Meet the Austins (1960)

The Moon by Night (1963)

 The Twenty-four Days Before Christmas (1984)

 The Young Unicorns (1968)

 A Ring of Endless Light (1980) (Newbery Honor Book)

 The Anti-Muffins (1980)

 Troubling a Star (1994)

Two short stories included in Miracle on 10th Street: And Other Christmas Writings (1998)

A Full House: An Austin Family Christmas (1999)

  • Kairos series:
  • First-generation (Murry series):

A Wrinkle in Time (1962; Newbery Award Winner)

A Wind in the Door (1973)

Intergalactic P.S. 3 (1970)

A Swiftly Tilting Planet (1978 —National Book Award in category Children’s Books (paperback).

Many Waters (1986)

Second-generation (O’Keefe Family series):

The Arm of the Starfish (1965)

Dragons in the Waters (1976)

A House Like a Lotus (1984)

An Acceptable Time (1989)

  • Time Quintet series (Murry series #1-4, O’Keefe Family series #4):
    • A Wrinkle in Time (1962)
    • A Wind in the Door (1973)
    • A Swiftly Tilting Planet (1978)
    • Many Waters (1986)
    • An Acceptable Time (1989)


  • And Both Were Young (1949), revised and reissued with new material (1983)
  • The Journey with Jonah (1967)
  • The Joys of Love (2008)


Katherine Forrester Vigneras series:

  1. The Small Rain (1945)
    1. Prelude (1968), no ISBN, an adaptation of the first half of The Small Rain
  2. A Severed Wasp (1982)

Camilla Dickinson series:

  1. Camilla Dickinson (1951), later republished in slightly different form as Camilla (1965), novel of young adult
  2. A Live Coal in the Sea (1996)


  • Ilsa (1946)
  • A Winter’s Love (1957)
  • The Love Letters (1966), revised and reissued as Love Letters (2000)
  • The Other Side of the Sun (1971)
  • Certain Women (1992)

Children’s books

Picture books:

  • Dance in the Desert (1969)
  • The Glorious Impossible (1990)
  • Moses, Prince of Egypt (1999)
  • The Other Dog (2001)

Short stories


  • The Sphinx at Dawn: Two Stories (1982), collection of 2 short stories:

“Pakko’s Camel”, “The Sphinx at Dawn”

  • 101st Miracle: Early Short Stories by Madeleine L’Engle (1999), collection of 12 short stories:

“Poor Little Saturday”, “Six Good People”, and more

  • The Moment of Tenderness (Expected publication: 2020), collection of 18 short stories



  • The Weather of the Heart: Selected Poems (1978)
  • Wintersong: Christmas Readings (1996, with Luci Shaw)
  • Mothers And Daughters (1997)
  • The Ordering of Love: The New and Collected Poems of Madeleine L’Engle (2005), collection of nearly 200 poems, including 18 that have never before been published:
  • “Lines Scribbled on an Envelope”, “The Weather of the Heart”, “A Cry Like a Bell”, and more


  • 18 Washington Square South: A Comedy In One Act (1944)


Autobiographies and memoirs

Crosswicks Journals series:

  1. A Circle of Quiet (1972)
  2. The Summer of the Great-grandmother (1974)
  3. The Irrational Season (1977)
  4. Two-Part Invention: The Story of a Marriage (1988)
  • Stand-alones:
  • From This Day Forward (1989)
  • Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections (1996, with Carole F. Chase)
  • Friends for the Journey (1997, with Luci Shaw)
  • My Own Small Place: Developing the Writing Life (1998)
  • L’Engle, Madeleine (2001). Carole F. Chase (ed.). Madeleine L’Engle Herself: Reflections on a Writing Life.
  • Religion

Genesis Trilogy:

  1. And It Was Good: Reflections on Beginnings (1983)
  2. A Stone for a Pillow (1986)
  3. Sold into Egypt (1989)


  • Everyday Prayers (1974)
  • Prayers for Sunday (1975)
  • Spirit And Light: Essays In Historical Theology (1976)
  • Ladder of Angels: Stories from the Bible Illustrated by Children of the World (1979)
  • Walking on Water: Reflections on Faith and Art (1980)
  • Trailing Clouds of Glory: Spiritual Values in Children’s Literature (1985)
  • The Rock that is Higher: Story as Truth (1993)
  • Anytime Prayers (1994)
  • Penguins and Golden Calves: Icons and Idols in Antarctica and Other Spiritual Places (1996)
  • Bright Evening Star: Mystery of the Incarnation (1997)
  • Miracle on 10th Street: And Other Christmas Writings (1998)

Includes two short stories about the Austin Family Chronicles series.

  • A Prayerbook for Spiritual Friends (1999, with Luci Shaw)
  • Mothers and Sons (2000)


  • Dare To Be Creative!: A Lecture Presented At The Library Of Congress, November 16, 1983 (1984)
  • Do I Dare Disturb the Universe?: The Celebrated Speech (2012)
%d bloggers like this: