Margaret Moore Kennedy

Margaret Moore Kennedy (23 April 1896 – 31 July 1967) was an English novelist and playwright. Her most successful work, as a novel and as a play, was The Constant Nymph. She was a productive writer and several of her works were filmed. Three of her novels were reprinted in 2011.

Books in order of publication:

A Century of Revolution 1789–1920 ([London]: Methuen, 1922), history

The Ladies of Lyndon (London: Heinemann, 1923), novel

The Constant Nymph (London: Heinemann, 1924; Leipzig), novel

With Basil Dean: The Constant Nymph – from the novel (London: Heinemann, 1926), play

A Long Week-End (London: Heinemann, 1927), limited e. of short magazine story.

Red Sky at Morning (London: Heinemann, 1927), novel

With Basil Dean: Come with Me (London: Heinemann, 1928), play

Dewdrops (London: Heinemann, 1928), limited e. of short girls’ school story.

The Game and the Candle (London: Heinemann, 1928), limited e. of short magazine story.

The Fool of the Family (London: Heinemann, 1930), novel, sequel to The Constant Nymph

Return I Dare Not (London: Heinemann, 1931), novel

A Long Time Ago (London: Heinemann, 1932), novel

Escape Me Never (London: Heinemann, 1934), dramatization of The Fool of the Family

Together and Apart (London: Cassell, 1936), novel

With Gregory Ratoff: Autumn (1937), play

The Midas Touch (London: Cassell, 1938), novel

Where Stands A Wingèd Sentry (New Haven: Yale University Press, 1941), memoir

The Mechanized Muse. P. E. N. series (London: G. Allen & Unwin, 1942), on the cinema

Happy with Either (1948), play

The Feast (London: Cassell, 1949), novel

Jane Austen. Novelists Series No. 1 (London: Barker, 1950), biography/criticism

Lucy Carmichael (London: Macmillan, 1951), novel

Troy Chimneys (London: Macmillan, 1953), novel

The Oracles (London: Macmillan, 1955), novel

The Heroes of Clone (London: Macmillan, 1957), novel

The Outlaws on Parnassus. On the art of the novel (London: Cresset Press, 1958), criticism

A Night in Cold Harbour (London: Macmillan, 1960), novel

The Forgotten Smile (London: Macmillan, 1961), novel

Not in the Calendar: The Story of a Friendship (London: Macmillan, 1964), novel

Women at Work (London: Macmillan, 1966), two novellas

%d bloggers like this: