Marianne Wiggins

Marianne Wiggins is the author of seven books of fiction including John Dollar and Evidence of Things Unseen. She has won an NEA grant, the Whiting Writers’ Award, and the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize, and she was a National Book Award- and Pulitzer Prize-finalist in fiction for Evidence of Things Unseen.

Books in order of publication:

  • Babe, 1975; the story of a single mother.
  • Went South, 1980.
  • Separate Checks, 1984; a short-story writer recovers from a nervous breakdown.
  • John Dollar, 1989; eight girls, marooned on an island.
  • Eveless Eden, 1995; the romance between a war correspondent and a photographer.
  • Almost Heaven, 1998.
  •  Evidence of Things Unseen, 2003; the dawn of the atomic age is seen through the eyes of Fos, an amateur chemist in Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, and Opal, a glassblower’s daughter.
  • The Shadow Catcher, 2007; a dual narrative threading early life of photographer Edward Curtis and current life of “Marianne Wiggins.”
  • Properties of Thirst, 2022


  • Herself in Love and Other Stories, 1987.
    • “Herself in Love,” Originally published in Granta 17: While Waiting for a War, August 1985
  • Bet They’ll Miss Us When We’re Gone, 1991.
%d bloggers like this: