Marina Warner

Dame Marina Sarah Warner, CH, DBE, FRSL, FBA (born 9 November 1946) is an English historian, mythographer, art critic, novelist, and short story writer. She is known for her many non-fiction books relating to feminism and myths. She has written for many publications, including The London Review of Books, the New Statesman, Sunday Times, and Vogue. She has been a visiting professor, giving lectures and teaching on the faculties of many universities.

Books in order of publication:

The Dragon Empress: Life and Times of Tz’u-hsi 1835–1908 (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1972)

Alone of All Her Sex: The Myth and the Cult of the Virgin Mary (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1976)

In a Dark Wood (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1977)

Queen Victoria Sketch Book (Macmillan, 1979)

The Crack in the Tea-Cup: Britain in the 20th Century (André Deutsch, 1979)

Joan of Arc: The Image of Female Heroism (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1981)

The Impossible Day (Methuen, 1981)

The Impossible Night (Methuen, 1981)

The Impossible Bath (Methuen, 1982)

The Impossible Rocket (Methuen, 1982)

The Skating Party (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1982)

The Wobbly Tooth (André Deutsch, 1984)

Monuments and Maidens: The Allegory of the Female Form (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1985)

The Lost Father (Chatto & Windus, 1988)

Into the Dangerous World (Chatto & Windus, 1989)

Imagining a Democratic Culture (Charter 88, 1991)

Indigo (Chatto & Windus, 1992)

L’Atalante (British Film Institute, 1993)

Mermaids in the Basement (Chatto & Windus, 1993)

Richard Wentworth (Thames & Hudson, 1993)

From the Beast to the Blonde: On Fairy Tales and Their Tellers (Chatto & Windus, 1994)

Managing Monsters: Six Myths of Our Time (Reith Lectures) (Vintage, 1994)

Wonder Tales: Six Stories of Enchantment (editor) (Chatto & Windus, 1994)

Six Myths Of Our Time: Little Angels, Little Monsters, Beautiful Beasts, and More (New York: Vintage, 1995)

Donkey Business Donkey Work: Magic and Metamorphoses in Contemporary Opera (University of Wales, 1996)

The Inner Eye: Art beyond the Visible (National Touring Exhibitions, 1996)

No Go the Bogeyman: Scaring, Lulling and Making Mock (Chatto & Windus, 1998)

The Leto Bundle (Chatto & Windus, 2001) Long listed for the Man Booker Prize.

Fantastic Metamorphoses, Other Worlds (Oxford University Press, 2002)

Murderers I Have Known and Other Stories (Chatto & Windus, 2002)

Collected Poems by Sally Purcell – preface (Anvil, 2002)

Signs & Wonders: Essays on Literature and Culture (Chatto & Windus, 2003)

Phantasmagoria (Oxford University Press, 2006)

Stranger Magic: Charmed States & The Arabian Nights (Chatto & Windus, 2011)

Once Upon a Time: A Short History of Fairy Tale (Oxford University Press, 2014)

Fly Away Home (Salt Publishing, 2015)

Fairy Tale: A Very Short Introduction (Oxford University Press, 2018)

Forms of Enchantment: Writings on Art and Artists (Thames & Hudson, 2018)

Inventory of a Life Mislaid: An Unreliable Memoir (Collins, 2021)

%d bloggers like this: