Marion Dane Bauer

Marion Dane Bauer is the author of more than one hundred books for young people, ranging from novelty and picture books through early readers, both fiction and nonfiction, books on writing, and middle-grade and young-adult novels. She has won numerous awards, including several Minnesota Book Awards, a Jane Addams Peace Association Award for RAIN OF FIRE, an American Library Association Newbery Honor Award for ON MY HONOR, several state children’s choice awards and the Kerlan Award from the University of Minnesota for the body of her work.

She is also the editor of and a contributor to the ground-breaking collection of gay and lesbian short stories, Am I Blue? Coming Out from the Silence.

Marion was one of the founding faculty and the first Faculty Chair for the Master of Fine Arts in Writing for Children and Young Adults program at Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her writing guide, the American Library Association Notable WHAT’S YOUR STORY? A YOUNG PERSON’S GUIDE TO WRITING FICTION, is used by writers of all ages. Her books have been translated into more than a dozen different languages.

She has six grandchildren and lives in St. Paul, Minnesota, with her partner and a cavalier King Charles spaniel, Dawn.

Books in order of publication:


Shelter from the Wind, 1976

Foster Child, 1977

Rain of Fire, 1983

On My Honor (Newbery Medal Winner), 1986

What’s Your Story? : a young person’s guide to writing fiction, 1992

Ghost Eye, 1992

A Taste of Smoke, 1993

(ed.) Am I Blue? : coming out from the silence, 1994

A Question of Trust, 1994

A Writer’s Story: from life to fiction, 1995

If You Were Born a Kitten, 1997

An Early Winter, 1999

My Mother is Mine, 2001

Runt, 2002

Land of the Buffalo Bones : the diary of Mary Ann Elizabeth Rodgers, an English girl in Minnesota, 2003. In the Dear America series.

Snow, 2003

Why Do Kittens Purr?, 2003

The Double-Digit Club, 2004

The Very Best Daddy of All, 2004

A Mama for Owen, 2004

Clouds, 2004

A Bear Named Trouble, 2005

The Blue Ghost, 2005

Some Babies Are Wild, 2008

The Very Little Princess, 2009

The Christmas Baby, 2009

Cutest Critter, 2010

The Longest Night, 2011

In Like a Lion, Out Like a Lamb, 2011

Dinosaur Thunder, 2012

Halloween Forest, 2012

Little Dog, Lost, 2012

Crinkle, Crackle, Crack, It’s Spring, 2015

Little Cat’s Luck, 2016

Winter Dance, 2017

Jump Little Wood Ducks, 2017

The Stuff of Stars, 2018

%d bloggers like this: