Martha Gellhorn

Martha Ellis Gellhorn (8 November 1908 – 15 February 1998) was an American novelist, travel writer, and journalist who is considered one of the great war correspondents of the 20th century.

Gellhorn reported on virtually every major world conflict that took place during her 60-year career. She was also the third wife of American novelist Ernest Hemingway, from 1940 to 1945. She died in 1998 by apparent suicide at the age of 89, ill and almost completely blind. The Martha Gellhorn Prize for Journalism is named after her.

Books in order of publication:

What mad pursuit : a novel. New York: Frederick A. Stokes Company. (1934).

The Trouble I’ve Seen (1936, new edition by Eland, 2012) Depression-era set of short stories.

A Stricken Field (1940) novel set in Czechoslovakia at the outbreak of war.

The Heart of Another (1941)

Liana (1944)

The Undefeated (1945)

Love Goes to Press: A Comedy in Three Acts (1947) (with Virginia Cowles);

The Wine of Astonishment (1948) World War II novel, republished in 1989 as Point of No Return

The Honeyed Peace: Stories (1953)

Two by Two (1958);

The Face of War (1959) collection of war journalism, updated in 1993.

His Own Man (1961)

Pretty Tales for Tired People (1965)

Vietnam: A New Kind of War (1966)

The Lowest Trees Have Tops (1967)

Travels with Myself and Another: A Memoir (1978, new edition by Eland, 2002)

The Weather in Africa (1978, new edition by Eland, 2006)

The View From the Ground (1989; new edition by Eland, 2016), a collection of peacetime journalism.

The Short Novels of Martha Gellhorn (1991); US edition being The Novellas of Martha Gellhorn (1993)

Selected Letters of Martha Gellhorn (2006), edited by Caroline Moorehead.

Yours, for Probably Always: Martha Gellhorn’s Letters of Love and War 1930–1949 (2019), edited by Janet Somerville.

%d bloggers like this: