Mary Flannery O’Connor

Author Mary Flannery O’Connor was born in Savannah, Georgia on March 25, 1925, and was Regina Cline and Edward Francis O’Connor’s (who worked as a real estate agent) only kid. Her parents come from two of the oldest Catholic families in the state of Georgia. Her education started in the parochial schools in Savannah, and she was both an avid artist and reader.  O’Connor wrote essays, two novels, and short stories.

Books in order of publication:

Standalone Novels

Wise Blood(1952) 
The Violent Bear It Away(1960) 

Short Story Collections

The Artificial Nigger(1955) 
A Good Man Is Hard To Find(1955) 
Everything That Rises Must Converge(1965) 
Mystery and Manners(1969) 
The Complete Stories(1971) 
Flannery O’Connor(2003) 

Non-Fiction Books

The Habit of Being(1978) 
Presence of Grace and Other Book Reviews(1983) 

Publication Order of Anthologies

Witches’ Brew(1984) 
The Oxford Book of American Short Stories(1992) 
%d bloggers like this: