Mary Paulson-Ellis


I am a writer living in Edinburgh, Scotland. I write about the world of those who die with no next of kin. Also what I call the ‘murderous’ side of family life.

In 2019 I was selected by Val McDermid as one of the UK’s ten most compelling LGBTQI+ writers working today. 

My debut novel, The Other Mrs Walker was a Times bestseller and Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year 2017. That same year I was Highly Commended as a Rising Star in the DIVA Literary Awards and shortlisted as a Breakthrough Author in the Books Are My Bag Readers Awards. In 2016 I was named an Amazon Rising Star.

The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing is my second novel.

I have an MLitt in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow where, on graduating, I was awarded the inaugural Curtis Brown Prize for Fiction in 2009. In 2013 I won the Literature Works First Page Prize for the opening of The Other Mrs Walker. I am also a Hawthornden and a Brownsbank Fellow. 

My short stories and non-fiction have been published in a variety of anthologies and magazines including the Guardian Weekend Magazine, New Writing Scotland, Gutter and the Herald.

In the past I have worked as a script-editor, arts administrator and tour guide. From 2010-2014 I was Writer in Residence at the Royal High School in Edinburgh, on behalf of the Edinburgh International Festival, and I have taught creative writing for other organizations including the National Galleries of Scotland.

Mary Paulson-Ellis
Photo by Chris Scott

Books in order of publication:

The Other Mrs Walker2016
The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing2019
%d bloggers like this: