Matt Haig

Matt Haig was born in Sheffield, England in1975. He writes books for both adults and children, often blending the worlds of domestic reality and outright fantasy, with a quirky twist. His bestselling novels are translated into 28 languages. The Guardian has described his writing as ‘delightfully weird’ and the New York Times has called him ‘a novelist of great talent’ whose writing is ‘funny, riveting and heartbreaking’.

His novels for adults are The Last Family in England, narrated by a labrador and optioned for film by Brad Pitt; The Dead Fathers Club (2006), an update of Hamlet featuring an 11-year-old boy; The Possession of Mr Cave (2008), about a man obsessed with his daughter’s safety, and The Radleys (2010) which won Channel 4’s TV Book Club public vote and was shortlisted for a Galaxy National Book Award (UK). The film rights to all his adult novels have been sold.

His multi-award winning popular first novel for children, Shadow Forest, was published in 2007 and its sequel, The Runaway Troll, in 2009.

Author website:

Books in order of publication:


  • The Last Family in England (Jonathan Cape, 2004); US title, The Labrador Pact
  • The Dead Fathers Club (Cape, 2006)
  • Shadow Forest (2007); US title, Samuel Blink and the Forbidden Forestry
  • The Possession of Mr Cave (The Bodley Head, 2008)
  • Runaway Troll (Cape, 2008); US title, Samuel Blink and the Runaway Troll
  • The Radleys (Canongate Books, 2010)
  • The Humans (Canongate Books, 2013)
  • To Be A Cat (Atheneum, 2013)
  • Echo Boy (Bodley, 2014)
  • A Boy Called Christmas (Canongate Books, 2015)
  • The Girl Who Saved Christmas (Canongate Books, 2016)
  • How to Stop Time (Canongate Books, 2017)
  • Father Christmas and Me (Canongate Books, 2017)
  • The Truth Pixie (Canongate Books, 2018)
  • Evie and the Animals(Canongate Books, 2019)
  • The Truth Pixie Goes to School(Canongate Books, 2019)
  • Evie In The Jungle(Canongate Books, 2020)
  • The Midnight Library (Canongate Books, 2020)


  How Come You Don’t Have An E-Strategy (Kogan Page, 2002)

  Brand Failures (Kogan Page, 2003)

  Brand Royalty (Kogan Page, 2004)

  Brand Success (Kogan Page, 2011)

  Reasons to Stay Alive (Canongate Books, 2015)

  Notes on a Nervous Planet (Canongate Books, 2018)

  The Midnight Library (Canongate Books, 2020)

%d bloggers like this: