Michael Lind

Michael Lind (born April 23, 1962) is an American writer and academic. He has explained and defended the tradition of American democratic nationalism in a number of books, beginning with The Next American Nation (1995). He is currently a professor at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas at Austin.

Books in order of publication:


  • The Next American Nation: The New Nationalism and the Fourth American Revolution. (1995) Free Press.
  • Up From Conservatism: Why the Right is Wrong for America. (1996) Free Press.
  • Hamilton’s Republic: Readings in the American Democratic Nationalist Tradition (editor). (1997)   Free Press.
  • Vietnam: The Necessary War: A Reinterpretation of America’s Most Disastrous Military Conflict. (1999)  Free Press.
  • The Radical Center: The Future of American Politics (with Ted Halstead). Doubleday.
  • Made in Texas: George W. Bush and the Southern Takeover of American Politics. (2003)Basic Books.
  • What Lincoln Believed: The Values and Convictions of America’s Greatest President. (2005)  Doubleday.
  • The American Way of Strategy: U.S. Foreign Policy and The American Way of Life. (2006) Oxford University Press.
  • Land of Promise: An Economic History of the United States. (2012) HarperCollins.
  • Big Is Beautiful: Debunking the Myth of Small Business (with Robert D. Atkinson). (2018) MIT Press.
  • The New Class War: Saving Democracy From The Managerial Elite.  (2020) Penguin Random House

Fiction and poetry

Powertown. (1996)  HarperCollins.

The Alamo: An Epic. (1997) Houghton Mifflin.

When You Are Someone Else. (2002) Aralia Press.

Bluebonnet Girl. (2003) Henry Holt.

%d bloggers like this: