Michael Nava

Michael Angel Nava (born September 16, 1954 in Stockton, California) is an American attorney and writer. He has worked on the staff for the California Supreme Court, and ran for a Superior Court position in 2010. He authored an eight-volume mystery series featuring Henry Rios, an openly gay protagonist who is a criminal defense lawyer. His novels have received six Lambda Literary Awards and critical acclaim in the LGBT and Latino communities.

Books published in order by series

Henry Rios novels[2]

  • The Little Death (1986)
  • Goldenboy (1988)
  • Howtown (1990)
  • The Hidden Law (1992)
  • The Death of Friends (1996)
  • The Burning Plain (1997)
  • Rag and Bone (2001)
  • Lay Your Sleeping Head (2016)
  • Carved in Bone (2019)

The Children of Eve

  • The City of Palaces (2014)[17]

Other works

  • Created Equal: Why Gay Rights Matter to America (1994) – co-author
  • Finale: Short Stories of Mystery and Suspense (1997) – editor
  • Hometowns: Gay Men Write About Where They Belong (1991) – “Gardenland”
  • A Member of the Family: Gay Men Write About Their Families (1994) – “Abuelo”
%d bloggers like this: