Michael Smith

Michael Smith is a number one bestselling author and award-winning journalist. He left school at 15 to join the British Army and after service with the Royal Artillery became a member of the army’s Intelligence Corps monitoring terrorist and Soviet Bloc communications.

Smith studied Arabic before working for three years in the Middle-East collecting intelligence on terrorists operating in Syria, Iraq and Lebanon. He also took part in Britain’s secret war against communist rebels in Oman, as part of a small unit providing intelligence for the SAS. Smith then spent four years in Europe, becoming a German interpreter and producing reports on the activities of the East German armed forces.

Books in order of publication:

Station X: The Codebreakers of Bletchley Park – 1998

Foley: The Spy Who Saved 10,000 Jews – 1999

No Man Dies Twice

The Emperor’s Codes – 2000

Killer Elite: The Inside Story of America’s Most Secret Special Operations Team – 2006

MI6: The Real James Bonds 1909-1939 – 2010

The Debs of Bletchley Park and Other Stories – 2015

The Anatomy of a Spy: A History of Espionage and Betrayal – 2020

The Real Special Relationship – 2022

%d bloggers like this: