Michelle de Kretser

Michelle de Kretser is an Australian novelist who was born in Sri Lanka but moved to Australia when she was 14.

She was educated in Melbourne and Paris, and published her first novel, ‘The Rose Grower’ in 1999. Her second novel, published in 2003, ‘The Hamilton Case’ was winner of the Tasmania Pacific Prize, the Encore Award (UK) and the Commonwealth Writers Prize (Southeast Asia and Pacific). ‘The Lost Dog’ was published in 2007. It was one of 13 books on the long list for the 2008 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. From 1989 to 1992 she was a founding editor of the Australian Women’s Book Review.

Books in order of publication:

The Rose Grower (1999)

The Hamilton Case (2003)

The Lost Dog (2007)

Questions of Travel (2012)

Springtime (2014)

The Life to Come (2017)

On Shirley Hazzard (2019)

Scary Monsters (2021)

%d bloggers like this: