Miranda Seymour

Miranda Jane Seymour (born 8 August 1948) is an English literary critic, novelist, and biographer. The lives she has described have included those of Robert Graves and Mary Shelley. Seymour, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, has in recent years been a visiting Professor of English Studies at Nottingham Trent University and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

Books in order of publication:


The Stones of Maggiare: a story of the Sforzas (1975)

Count Manfred: a Gothic tale (1976)

Daughter of Darkness: Lucrezia Borgia (1977)

The Goddess: Helen of Troy (1979)

Madonna of the Island: stories from a village in Corfu (1980)

Medea (1981)

Carrying On (1984)

The Reluctant Devil (1990)

The Summer of ’39 (1998), published in the UK (1997) as The Telling

Juvenile fiction

Mumtaz the Magical Cat (1984)

Caspar and the Secret Kingdom (1986)

The Vampire of Verdonia (1986)

Pierre and the Pamplemousse (1989)


A Ring of Conspirators: Henry James and his literary circle, 1895–1915 (1988)

Ottoline Morrell: Life on the Grand Scale (1993)

Robert Graves: Life on the Edge (1995)

Mary Shelley (2001)

A Brief History of Thyme (2002)

The Bugatti Queen: In Search of a Motor-Racing Legend (2004)

In My Father’s House (2007); Thrumpton Hall in the US (2008)

Chaplin’s Girl: The Life and Loves of Virginia Cherrill (2009)

Noble Endeavours – The Life of Two Countries, England and Germany, in Many Stories (2013)

In Byron’s Wake: The Turbulent Lives of Lord Byron’s Wife and Daughter: Annabella Milbanke and Ada Lovelace (2018)

I Used to Live Here Once: The Haunted Life of Jean Rhys (2022)

%d bloggers like this: