Nancy Mitford

Nancy Freeman-Mitford CBE (28 November 1904 – 30 June 1973), known as Nancy Mitford, was an English novelist, biographer, and journalist. The eldest of the Mitford sisters, she was regarded as one of the “bright young things” on the London social scene in the inter-war period. She wrote several novels about upper-class life in England and France and is considered a sharp and often provocative wit. She also has a reputation as a writer of popular historical biographies.

Mitford enjoyed a privileged childhood as the eldest daughter of the Hon. David Freeman-Mitford, later 2nd Baron Redesdale. Educated privately, she had no training as a writer before publishing her first novel in 1931. This early effort and the three that followed it created little stir. Her two semi-autobiographical post-war novels, The Pursuit of Love (1945) and Love in a Cold Climate (1949), established her reputation.

Mitford’s marriage to Peter Rodd (1933) proved unsatisfactory to both, and they divorced in 1957 after a lengthy separation. During the Second World War she formed a liaison with a Free French officer, Gaston Palewski, who was the love of her life. After the war Mitford settled in France and lived there until her death, maintaining contact with her many English friends through letters and regular visits.

During the 1950s Mitford developed the concept of “U” (upper) and “non-U” language, whereby social origins and standing were identified by words used in everyday speech. She had intended this as a joke, but many took it seriously, and Mitford was considered an authority on manners and breeding.

Her later years were bittersweet, the success of her biographical studies of Madame de Pompadour, Voltaire, and King Louis XIV contrasting with the ultimate failure of her relationship with Palewski. From the late 1960s her health deteriorated, and she endured several years of painful illness before her death in 1973.

Books in order of publication:

Highland Fling – 1931

Christmas Pudding – 1932

Wigs on the Green – 1935

Pigeon Pie – 1940

The Pursuit of Love(Radlett and Montdore # 1) -1945

Love in a Cold Climate (Radlett and Montdore # 2) – 1949

The Blessing – 1951

Madame de Pompadour – 1954

A Talent To Annoy – 1955

Voltaire in Love – 1957

Don’t Tell Alfred (Radlett and Montdore # 3) – 1960

The Water Beetle – 1962

The Sun King : Louis Fourteenth at Versailles – 1966

Frederick the Great – 1970

%d bloggers like this: