Nathaniel Hawthorne

Nathaniel Hawthorne (July 4, 1804 – May 19, 1864) was an American novelist, dark romantic, and short story writer.  He entered Bowdoin College in 1821, was elected to Phi Beta Kappa in 1824, and graduated in 1825. He published his first work in 1828, the novel Fanshawe; he later tried to suppress it, feeling that it was not equal to the standard of his later work. He published several short stories in periodicals, which he collected in 1837 as Twice-Told Tales. His works often focus on history, morality, and religion.

Books in order of publication:


  • Fanshawe (published anonymously, 1828)
  • The Scarlet Letter, A Romance (1850)
  • The House of the Seven Gables, A Romance (1851)
  • The Blithedale Romance (1852)
  • The Marble Faun: Or, The Romance of Monte Beni (1860) (as Transformation: Or, The Romance of Monte Beni, UK publication, same year)
  • The Dolliver Romance (1863) (unfinished)
  • Septimius Felton; or, the Elixir of Life (unfinished, published in the Atlantic Monthly, 1872)
  • Doctor Grimshawe’s Secret: A Romance (unfinished, with preface and notes by Julian Hawthorne, 1882)

Short story collections

  • Twice-Told Tales (1837)
  • Grandfather’s Chair (1840)
  • Mosses from an Old Manse (1846)
  • A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys (1851)
  • The Snow-Image, and Other Twice-Told Tales (1852)
  • Tanglewood Tales (1853)
  • The Dolliver Romance and Other Pieces (1876)
  • The Great Stone Face and Other Tales of the White Mountains (1889)
%d bloggers like this: