Patricia Cornwell

Patricia Cornwell is an American fiction crime writer. She was written thirty-seven books, including fiction, non-fiction, and a children’s book. She has sold over 100 million copies of her books. She has written many series, including the Doctor Kay Scarpetta books about a female medical examiner for Virginia.

Other series include the Andy Brazil and Judy Hammer series, the Win Garano series, and an Omnibus that refers to the Scarpetta novels. She has written a total of twenty-four New York Times Best Sellers. She sold her first book Postmortem while she was working as a computer analyst at Virginia’s medical examination offices.

Cornwell was born on June 9, 1956, in Miami. Her father left the family when she was just five years old. Her mother subsequently was hospitalized for depression in 1961. Cornwell went with her two brothers Jim and John into foster care, growing up in Montreal, North Carolina.

Books in order of publication:

Kay Scarpetta Books

Body of Evidence(1991) 
All That Remains(1992) 
Cruel and Unusual(1993) 
The Body Farm(1994) 
From Potter’s Field(1995) 
Cause of Death(1996) 
Unnatural Exposure(1997) 
Point of Origin(1998) 
Black Notice(1999) 
The Last Precinct(2000) 
Blow Fly(2003) 
Book of the Dead(2007) 
The Scarpetta Factor(2009) 
Port Mortuary(2010) 
Red Mist(2011) 
The Bone Bed(2012) 
Flesh and Blood(2014) 
Depraved Heart(2015) 

Andy Brazil/Judy Hammer Books

Hornet’s Nest(1996) 
Southern Cross(1998) 
Isle of Dogs(2001) 

Captain Chase Books


Winston Garano Books

At Risk(2006) 
The Front(2008) 

Publication Order of Picture Books

Life’s Little Fable(1999)

Non-Fiction Books

Ruth, A Portrait: The Story of Ruth Bell Graham(1983) 
Scarpetta’s Winter Table(1998) 
Food to Die For: Secrets From Kay Scarpetta’s Kitchen(2001) 
Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper – Case Closed(2002) 
Chasing the Ripper(2014) 
Ripper: The Secret Life of Walter Sickert(2017)


The Mammoth Encyclopedia of Modern Crime Fiction(2002)
%d bloggers like this: