Patrick McCabe

Patrick McCabe came to prominence with the publication of his third adult novel, The Butcher Boy, in 1992; the book was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in Britain and won the Irish Times-Aer Lingus Prize for fiction. McCabe’s strength as an author lies in his ability to probe behind the veneer of respectability and conformity to reveal the brutality and the cloying and corrupting stagnation of Irish small-town life, but he can find compassion for the subjects of his fiction. His prose has a vitality and an anti-authoritarian bent, using everyday language to deconstruct the ideologies at work in Ireland between the early 1960s and the late 1970s. His books can be read as a plea for a pluralistic Irish culture that can encompass the past without being dominated by it.

McCabe is an Irish writer of mostly dark and violent novels of contemporary, often small-town, Ireland. His novels include The Butcher Boy (1992) and Breakfast on Pluto (1998), both shortlisted for the Booker Prize. He has also written a children’s book (The Adventures of Shay Mouse) and several radio plays broadcast by the RTÉ and the BBC Radio 4. The Butcher Boy and Breakfast on Pluto have both been adapted into films by Irish director Neil Jordan.

McCabe lives in Clones, Co. Monaghan with his wife and two daughters.

Books in order of publication:

The Butcher Boy – 1992

Carn – 1993

The Dead School – 1995

Breakfast on Pluto – 1998

Mondo Desperado – 1999

Emerald Germs of Ireland – 2001

Call Me the Breeze – 2003

Winterwood – 2007

The Holy City – 2008

The Stray Sod Country – 2010

Hello Mr Bones – 2013

Hello and Goodbye – 2013

Heartland – 2018

The Big Yaroo – 2019

Poguemahone – 2021

%d bloggers like this: