Paul Bowles

Paul Bowles grew up in New York and attended college at the University of Virginia before traveling to Paris, where became a part of Gertrude Stein’s literary and artistic circle. Following her advice, he took his first trip to Tangiers in 1931 with his friend, composer Aaron Copeland.

In 1938 he married author and playwright Jane Auer (see: Jane Bowles). He moved to Tangiers permanently in 1947, with Auer following him there in 1948. There they became fixtures of the American and European expatriate scene, their visitors including Truman Capote, Tennessee Williams, and Gore Vidal. Bowles continued to live in Tangiers after the death of his wife in 1973.

Bowles died of heart failure in Tangier on November 18, 1999. His ashes were interred near the graves of his parents and grandparents in Lakemont, New York.

Author website:

Books in order of publication:


1949 – The Sheltering Sky

1952 – Let It Come Down

1955 – The Spider’s House

1966 – Up Above the World

1991 – Too Far From Home (novella)

1992 – Too Far From Home (with Miquel Barceló; 28 watercolors)

1994 – Too Far From Home (with Marguerite McBey)

Short fiction

(1945) “Doña Faustina”

(December 1945) “The Scorpion”

(September 1946) “The Echo”

(October 1946) “By the Water”

(Jan-Feb 1947) “A Distant Episode”

(June 1947) “Under the Sky”

(October 1947) “Call at Corazón”

(January 1948) “You Are Not I”

(September 1948) “At Paso Rojo”

(February 1949) “Pastor Dowe at Tacaté”

(Summer 1949) “The Delicate Prey”

(Autumn 1949) “Pages From Cold Point”

(1950) “The Circular Valley,” “The Fourth Day Out from Santa Cruz,” “A Thousand Days to Mokhtar,” & “Tea on the Mountain”

(April 1950) “How Many Midnights”

(July 1950) “Señor Ong and Señor Ha”

(March 1951) “The Successor” (aka “A Gift for Kinza”)

(April 1954) “If I Should Open My Mouth”

(1956) “The Hours After Noon”

(July 1957) ” The Frozen Fields”

(May 1958) “Tapiama”

(1960) “He of the Assembly”

(October 1960) “Merkala Beach” (aka “The Story of Lachen and Idir”)

(March 1961) “A Friend of the World”

(Winter 1962) “The Hyena”

(Autumn/Winter 1964) “The Garden”

(Summer 1970) “Afternoon with Antaeus”

(Spring/Summer 1974) “Mejdoub”

(Fall 1974) “The Fqih”

(1975) “The Waters of Izli”

(January 1976) “Things Gone and Things Still Here”

(Spring/Summer 1976) “Istikhara, Anaya, Medagan and the Medaganat”

(January 1977) “Allal”

(June 1977) “Reminders of Bouselham”

(Fall 1978) “The Eye”

(Summer 1979) “Here to Learn”

(Winter 1979) “Midnight Mass”

(Spring 1980) “The Dismissal”

(Summer 1980) “Madame and Ahmed” & “Kitty”

(July 1980) “Bouayad and the Money”

(Winter 1980) “The Husband”

(Winter 1980-81) “At the Krungthep Plaza”

(1981) “In the Red Room” & “Midnight Mass”

(Spring 1981) “The Little House,” “Rumor and a Ladder,” & “Tangier 1975”

(Autumn 1983) “Massachusetts 1932”

(1985) “The Empty Amulet”

(Spring 1985) “Hugh Harper”

(Fall 1985) “Julian Vreden”

(January–February 1987) “Unwelcome Words”

(Spring 1987) “In Absentia”

(1988) “An Inopportune Visit,” “New York 1965,” & “Dinner at Sir Nigel’s”

(1992) “Too Far from Home”

“You Have Left Your Lotus Pods on the Bus”

(1995) “The Time of Friendship”

(1998) “The Wind at Beni Midar”

%d bloggers like this: