Paul Russell

Paul Russell is an American novelist, poet and short story writer. He is a two-time winner of the Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBT fiction, in 2000 for The Coming Storm and in 2012 for The Unreal Life of Sergey Nabokov.[1] The Unreal Life of Sergey Nabokov is a fictionalized portrayal of a real person – Sergey Nabokov, the gay younger brother of Russian novelist Vladimir Nabokov, about whom very little concrete biographical information is known.[2]

Russell grew up in Memphis, Tennessee,[2] where his father Jack was a mathematics professor at Southwestern at Memphis.[2] He studied at Oberlin College and Cornell University.[2] He is a professor of English literature at Vassar College.[3]

Books in order of publication:


  • The Salt Point (1990)
  • Boys of Life (1991)
  • Sea of Tranquillity (1994)
  • The Coming Storm (1999)
  • War Against the Animals (2003)
  • The Unreal Life of Sergey Nabokov (2012)
  • Immaculate Blue (2015)


  • The Gay 100: A Ranking of the Most Influential Gay Men and Lesbians, Past and Present (1995)
%d bloggers like this: