Paul Theroux

Paul Edward Theroux (born April 10, 1941) is an American travel writer and novelist, whose works include The Great Railway Bazaar (1975). He has published numerous works of fiction, some of which were adapted as feature films. He was awarded the 1981 James Tait Black Memorial Prize for his novel The Mosquito Coast, which was adapted for the 1986 movie of the same name and The Mosquito Coast (TV series) in 2021.

He is the father of British authors and documentary filmmakers Marcel and Louis Theroux, the brother of authors Alexander Theroux and Peter Theroux, and uncle of the American actor and screenwriter Justin Theroux.

Books in order of publication:

The Great Railway Bazaar – 1975

The Old Patagonian Express: By Train Through the Americas – 1979

The Mosquito Coast – 1981

The Kingdom by the Sea – 1983

Riding the Iron Rooster – 1988

The Happy Isles of Oceania: Paddling the Pacific – 1992

The Pillars of Hercules – 1995

Dark Star Safari: Overland from Cairo to Cape Town – 2002

Ghost Train to the Eastern Star – 2008

Deep South: Four Seasons on Back Roads – 2015

%d bloggers like this: