Penelope Fitzgerald

Penelope Fitzgerald was an English novelist, poet, essayist, and biographer. In 2008, The Times included her in a list of “The 50 greatest British writers since 1945”. In 2012, The Observer named her final novel, The Blue Flower, as one of “the ten best historical novels”.

Fitzgerald was the author of nine novels. Her novel Offshore was the winner of the Booker Prize. A further three novels — The Bookshop, The Beginning of Spring and The Gate of Angels — also made the shortlist.

She was educated at Wycombe Abbey and Somerville College, Oxford university, from which she graduated in 1938 with a congratulatory First.

She was the granddaughter of Edward Lee Hicks.

Books in order of publication:


Edward Burne-Jones (1975)

The Knox Brothers (1977)

Charlotte Mew and Her Friends: With a Selection of Her Poems (1984)


The Golden Child (1977)

The Bookshop (1978)

Offshore (1979)

Human Voices (1980)

At Freddie’s (1982)

Innocence (1986)

The Beginning of Spring (1988)

The Gate of Angels (1990)

The Blue Flower (1995, UK, 1997, US)

Short story collections

 The Means of Escape (2000)

%d bloggers like this: